Human Rights

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Among other databases includes: ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Proquest Criminal Justice, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, PAIS International, Proquest Political Science, Social Services Abstracts. and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Rutgers-restricted Access

Homeland Security Digital Library

Compendium of materials from federal, state, local, and international governmental departments and agencies, academic institutions, think tanks, conference sites, non-governmental organizations, institutes and organizations and other credible entities." Rutgers-restricted Access

The Environment

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database

Includes AGRICOLA, the bibliographic database from the National Agricultural Library, as well as the Environmental Science and Pollution Management database.

Gender Studies

Women's Studies International

1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Full-text access to global information on women found in journals, research reports, newspapers, pamphlets, and fact sheets. Rutgers-restricted Access

GenderWatch

A full-text collection of journals, magazines, and newsletters illustrating the impact of gender to a wide range of subject areas. Rutgers-restricted Access

LGBTQ+ Source

Index to scholarly and popular publications covering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer issues, including journals, books, magazines, and newspapers. Mid-20th century to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access

History

Historical Abstracts

1955- . The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

America: History and Life

1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Religion and Philosophy

ATLA Religion Database

1949- . Index to 650 journals representing all the major religious faiths, as well as some 14,000 multi-authored works, relating to Biblical studies, world religions, Church history and religious perspectives on social issues. Rutgers-restricted Access

Philosopher's Index

1940- Index to over 480 journals worldwide, as well as books, relating to social and political philosophy and concepts, the philosophy of law, the philosophy of religion, etc. Rutgers-restricted Access

Sociology

Sociologial Abstracts

1963- Index to approximately 1800 scholarly and professional journals in sociology and related disciplines, as well as to books reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Family and Society Studies Worldwide

1970- Index to literature on the family and family-related subjects drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines. Indexes books, journals, conference papers, government reports, and working papers. Rutgers-restricted Access

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the   button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.