Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Rights

Why Newspapers?

You can use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.

The Press Then and Now

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search
Search across the six ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001), the Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 – December 31, 2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and the Washington Post (1877-2005).
Searching across the historical newspapers is handy, but sometimes articles that appear in a search of an individual newspaper don't appear in a combined search. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical New York Times
Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. The two+ most recent years are not included; use Factiva to find more recent articles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Washington Post
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 2005. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Philadelphia Inquirer
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Philadelphia Inquirer between 1860 and 2001. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Historical Wall Street Journal
Search and display the full image of articles published in the Wall Street Journal between 1889 and 2010. Rutgers-restricted Access
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text collection of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press back to 1960. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Contemporary Accounts: U.S. and Other Media

Access World News
Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes the Newark Star-Ledger back to 1989.Rutgers-restricted Access
Westlaw
"News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
Factiva
A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts, including the current New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Newspaper Source Plus
A collection of current (late 20th century to the present) news sources from around the world, including over 1200 full-text newspapers, 150 newswires, news magazines, television and radio transcripts, news video clips, and more. Television and radio news transcript sources include ABC News (United States), ABC (Australia), CBC (Canada), CBS News, CNBC, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC, NPR, and PBS. Rutgers-restricted Access.
TV-NewsSearch: Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Access to NBC (1968- ) and CNN (1995- ) news broadcasts, as well as indexing to nightly news programs broadcast by the other national television networks. Rutgers-restricted Access
CNN - World
Major news network
Al Jazeera English
The highly respected English-language news and current affairs channel based in Qatar.
Worldpress.org
"A nonpartisan magazine whose mission is to foster the international exchange of perspectives and information. It contains articles reprinted from the press outside the United States, as well as originally written material."

Today's News

Today's News

The New York Times
Create a personal account for full access to NYTimes.com and The New York Times app through the Rutgers Libraries. Rutgers-restricted Access
The Wall Street Journal
Create a personal account for full access to the daily Wall Street Journal through the Rutgers Libraries. Rutgers-restricted Access

International Media

Current articles from many news sources are also available online.

ABYZ News Links "Gateway to Newspapers, News Media, and News Sources" from around the world, with its own search tool.

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers. An information clearinghouse and searchable database covering over 25,000 newspapers around the world.

LANIC: Newspapers & News in Latin America

LANIC: Television in Latin America

OnlineNewspapers.com. More than 5,000 titles listed by country.

The Paperboy Links to more than 3600 newspapers from 126 countries.

International Newspaper Archives

There are some online publicly available international newspaper collections as well.

European Newspaper Archives Links to (mostly) free European newspaper archives. Includes British, Irish, Welsh, German, French, Dutch, and other collections. From Xooxle Answers.

International News: Historical Archives. Newspaper collections from Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the rest of the world excluding Europe and the U.S.

International News Archives on the Web. Selective coverage of papers from around the world with searchable archives.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.