Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Genocide Studies: Other Archival Collections

Archival Databases/Guides

ArchiveGrid
Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access
Worldcat
Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". Rutgers-restricted Access
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
The most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century. Includes bibliographic access to 71,000 archival collections. Rutgers-restricted Access

The Jewish Holocaust

Visual History Archive (VHA)
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies in 32 languages (without subtitles) from 56 countries. The Institute interviewed Jewish survivors (49,400 out of the total) and other persons with experience of the Holocaust. Each interview consists of a single witness speaking about his or her life before, during, and after World War II. Rutgers-restricted Access
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. Part of Yale University's department of Manuscripts and Archives.
University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies: Videos
Digitized versions of video of local Holocaust survivors, American concentration camp liberators, as well as testimonies by second generation Armenians and various lectures that took place at the University of Minnesota and other academic and community institutions.
University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies: Audios
Audio file transfers from cassette recordings of Holocaust survivors and American Concentration camp liberators with connections to Minnesota.

Other Virtual Genocide Collections

Visual History Archive (VHA)
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive now contains a collection of visual testimonies relating to the Rwandan, Armenian, and Nanjing genocides. Rutgers-restricted Access
Armenocide: The Armenian Genocide
Documents from State and Private Archives.
Armenian Genocide
Resources from the University of Minnesota Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies
Rwandan Radio Transcripts
Transcripts of hate radio broadcasts by RTLM, Radio Rwanda and Radio Muhabura. During the 1994 Rwandan Genocide, radio broadcasts played an important role in inciting ordinary citizens to take part in the massacres of their Tutsi, and moderate Hutu, neighbours. From the Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights.
Kangura
Kangura was a Kinyarwanda- and French-language magazine in Rwanda that served to stoke ethnic hatred in the run-up to the Rwandan Genocide. From the Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights.
Ukrainian Famine Memoirs
A number of memoirs from the famine in Ukraine have been translated into English. From the Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights.