Skip to main content

Genocide Studies: Raphael Lemkin

Raphael Lemkin

Comprehensive Bibliography: Writings of Raphael Lemkin. Annotated bibliography compiled by Jim Fussell of Prevent Genocide International.

Key Writings of Raphael Lemkin on Genocide. From Project Genocide International.

Raphael Lemkin Project. The Raphael Lemkin Project site from the Center for the Study of Genocide and Human Rights at Rutgers University Newark includes a bibliography of writings by and about Lemkin.

Scream Bloody Murder: Polish Jew Gave His Life Defining, Fighting Genocide. December 2008 CNN report; includes four video clips from the documentary.

Journal of Genocide Research

The Journal of Genocide Research 7(4), December 2005 issue was devoted to Lemkin.

From the Editor: Lemkin Redux: In Quest of a Word pp.443-445.
"The article provides information on several words used to described extreme and large-scale killings before the word 'genocide' was invented." Rutgers-restricted Access

Raphael Lemkin: the 'Founder of the United Nation's Genocide Convention' as a Historian of Mass Violencepp.447-452.
Dominik J. Schaller and Jurgen Zimmerer."The influence of Raphael Lemkin on international law and his historical analysis of mass crimes." Rutgers-restricted Access

Raphael Lemkin and the International Debate on the Punishment of War Crimes (1919-1948) pp.453-468.
Daniel Segesser and Myriam Gessier. Lemkin's struggle to have genocide included as a punishable international war crime. Rutgers-restricted Access

What You See before Your Eyes: Documenting Raphael Lemkin's Life by Exploring His Archival Papers, 1900-1959. pp.469-499.
Tanya Elder. "The article provides information about Raphael Lemkin through his archival collections." Rutgers-restricted Access

Raphael Lemkin as Historian of Genocide in the Americas pp.501-529
Michael Mcdonnell and A. Moses. "The article provides information about genocide by taking into account the studies conducted by Raphael Lemkin in different places." Rutgers-restricted Access

Raphael Lemkin's View of European Colonial Rule in Africa: Between Condemnation and Admiration pp.531-538. Rutgers-restricted Access

Raphael Lemkin on the Holocaust pp.539-550. "The article examines the knowledge of Raphael Lemkin about the genocide of the Jews and his analysis of the situation presented in his book "Axis Rule in Occupied Europe" and his other writings about Nazi Germany." Rutgers-restricted Access

Hostage of Politics: Raphael Lemkin on 'Soviet Genocide' pp.551-559. "Summarizes the view of Raphael Limkin on Stalinist terror in Russia." Rutgers-restricted Access

Lemkin Collections

Raphael Lemkin Papers, 1947-1959
Collection at the New York Public Library. 2 linear feet (5 boxes); 5 microfilm reels. Collection consists of correspondence, drafts of an autobiography, draft of a history of genocide, and research notes and printed materials relating to genocide throughout the world. Advance notice required to use the collection. Permission Form for Access to the Lemkin Collection
NYPLDigital Collections: Raphael Lemkin Papers
The New York Public Library has digitized 25 items (photographs, individual manuscript pages, typed documents) from the Lemkin collection.
Guide to the Raphael Lemkin (1900-1959) Collection
Finding aid to the collection at the Center for Jewish History (15 West 16th Street New York, New York) of the American Jewish Historical Society. 7.5 linear ft.; 12 manuscript boxes, 2 oversized boxes. "Documents include personal correspondence and artifacts; correspondence, documentation, clippings, and articles regarding the United Nations adoption of the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment on the Crime of Genocide treaty; and source material for the unfinished manuscript, History of Genocide. Collection includes photographs, identity cards, articles, papers, essays, clippings, magazines, research materials, term papers, posters, United Nations materials, and microfilm."
Center for Jewish History Digital Collections: Raphael Lemkin
Over 75 items, including complete folders, from the Raphael Lemkin collection have been digitized.
Finding Aid to the Raphael Lemkin Papers, 1942-1959
Collection at the American Jewish Archives (Cincinnati, Ohio). 2.8 linear feet.7 Hollinger boxes. The collection includes correspondence, memoranda, newspaper clippings, printed material and miscellaneous material. The papers span the years between 1942 and 1959 with the bulk of the material covering the years 1948-1956.