Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Genocide Studies: The UN and Other IGOs

What is an IGO?

Ergo FIGO: Identifying Formal Intergovernmental Organizations
Thomas J. Volgy et. al. Working Papers Series in International Politics. Tucson, Arizona, University of Arizona, Department of Political Science, December 2006.
"In this effort we probe the conceptual and empirical dimensions related to identifying the existence of intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) in international affairs...."

IGOs

The United Nations

UNBISnet: United Nations Bibliographic Information System
UN and other documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjold Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva. Full coverage from 1979 but many older titles continue to be added. Many links to full-text documents. You can also search voting records for all resolutions adopted by the General Assembly (1983- ) and the Security Council (1946- ), and for speeches (1983- ) made in the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, and the Trusteeship Council.

AccessUN
Database indexing UN documents (General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat, and the International Court of Justice) and publications back to 1946, with links to some full text documents. Also indexes articles in UN periodicals.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

Official Document System of the United Nations
1993- Index to the full text of UN parliamentary documents (resolutions and decisions from the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, and their subsidiary bodies). Also includes documents from global conference convened by the UN. Official resolutions and decisions back to 1946 are in the "Resolutions" database, available from the "Advanced Search" screen.

UN Wire
Archive as well daily email briefing (free) of news about the UN and about international affairs.

OECD

SourceOECD
Online library of publications, including 24 periodicals as well as many statistical series, from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Focuses on the OECD's thirty member countries, although information on the some 70 other countries and non-governmental organizations with whom the OECD has an active relationship if also available.
Off-Campus Link Rutgers-restricted Access

NATO

North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO)
In addition to recent news, opinion and analysis, speeches, etc., site includes an On-line Library of topical publications, reference works, speeches and articles, and updates on current activities. Official Texts includes documents relating to the antecedents of the Alliance, juridical texts and format agreements (1949-1997), and key policy documents. The NATO Library publishes a series of excellent, partially-annotated Thematic Bibliographies.