Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Newark By the Numbers: Health

This guide focuses on resources containing data on the city of Newark, New Jersey. For an extensive bibliography (books, articles, reports, web sites) on Newark see The Newark Experience .

Social & Health Indicators

New Jersey Chartbook of Substance Abuse Related Social Indicators: Essex County
May, 2013. Substance abuse related social and health indicators. Includes municipal data.

Behavioral Risk Surveillance Survey

NJ Behavioral Risk Factor Survey Data Query.
Create customized tables of NJBRFS prevalence estimates for selected risk factors stratified by age, sex, race/ethnicity, nativity, marital status, education, employment status, and geographic area of residence (NJ counties, Newark, and Jersey City).

Newark Health

New Jersey State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD)
Use the New Jersey State Health Assessment Data (NJSHAD) database to generate Newark health statistics tables.
New Jersey Health Statistics from 1877 to 2000: An Historical Electronic Compendium of Published Reports
Scanned annual reports on health and health-related data and statistics; includes lots of Newark-specific data. Compiled by Mark C. Fulcomer and Marcia M. Sass.

AIDS

Newark EMA HIV Health Services Planning Council Reports (archived website)
The Newark Eligible Metropolitan Area Health Services Planning Council includes Essex, Union, Morris, Sussex, and Warren counties. The Newark EMA provides direct care and services for about 9000 persons living with HIV or AIDS. Site includes health plan, needs assessment, and resource allocation reports.
Comprehensive Health Plan 2012-2014 : Newark EMA HIV Health Services Planning Council
"This Comprehensive Plan reflects a shift in focus toward ensuring access to care and maintaining PLWHA in care, reaching those who are aware of their HIV status but not in care, and reaching those who are unaware of their HIV status. The Plan continues to focus on a continuum of care comprised of Ryan White and other resources that addresses the unmet need and service gaps identified through needs assessments. The Plan reflects a significant expansion of the EMA’s Quality Management Program including use of HRSA HAB Core Clinical Performance measures. It also includes new initiatives such as monitoring Viral Load Suppression which is one measure of community viral load. The Newark EMA continuum of care incorporates standards of care, which if met or exceeded, result in a quality system for PLWHA."
Newark New Jersey Eligible Metropolitan Area (EMA) Integrated HIV Prevention and Care Plan 2017-2021 
"The Newark Eligible Metropolitan Area (EMA) Part A Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program (RWHAP) has conducted annual needs assessments or needs assessment updates of persons living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA) since 1994, as required by the Ryan White legislation.  These assessments have included an Epidemiological Profile (“Epi Profile”) of PLWHA in the five-county Newark EMA region – Essex, Morris, Sussex, Union, and Warren Counties.  The Newark EMA Epidemiological Profile has been completed and updated annually, and the 2016 profile is included as Appendix A to be updated annually from 2017-2021."
The New Jersey Integrated HIV Prevention and Care Plan (2017-2020)
"The New Jersey Integrated HIV Prevention and Care Plan is a collaborative plan for delivery of HIV care and treatment, as well as HIV prevention services across the state. The plan sets out clear goals and objectives to be achieved by 2020. The plan was developed in cooperation with DHSTS, NJHPG (New Jersey’s combined HIV Prevention and Ryan White Part B planning group), the four Emerging Metropolitan Areas (EMAs) and Transitional Grant Areas (TGAs) in the state (Newark EMA; Bergen-Passaic TGA; Hudson County TGA; Middlesex/Somerset/Hunterdon TGA), and the five New Jersey counties represented by the Philadelphia EMA. Representatives from each planning body worked collaboratively with the NJHPG to conduct needs assessments, gather planning data from across the state, and make recommendations to address gaps in HIV-related services as identified in the needs assessment and planning data. "
HIV Risk, Prevention, and Testing Behaviors Among Men Who Have Sex With Men -- National HIV Behavioral Surveillance System, 21 U.S. Cities, United States, 2008
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Surveillance Summaries 60(SS14);1-34, October 28, 2011.
County and Municipal HIV/AIDS Statistics, 2017
Prevalence Rate by County of Persons Living with HIV/AIDS. Reported as of December 31, 2017. NJ Department of Health.
Ten Major Cities served by IMPACT Initiative - Newark 
2017 statistics on Newark residents with HIV/AIDS. NJ Department of Health.
"Geographical AIDS Rates and Socio-Demographic Variable in the Newark, New Jersey Metropolitan Area,"
Dale J. Hu et.al. AIDS & Public Policy Journal 9(1), Spring 1994, 20-24.
Study examining the relationship between socioeconomic factors and the incidence of HIV/AIDS in Newark. Based on December 1991 zip code data, median household income was the variable most strongly associated with higher cumulative AIDS incidence. Available?

Lead Poisoning

"Lead Poisoning: More Than a Medical Problem,"
D. Jean Schneider and Marvin A. Lavenhar. American Journal of Public Health 76(3), March 1986, 242-244.
Lead paint used in pre-1950 housing is a major source of lead poisoning in children. In 1980 66 percent of Newark's housing stock predated 1950. An examination of the medical records of 236 Newark children treated for lead poisoning between 1977 and 1980 found that the number of cases began to rise after 1976, when a decrease in federal funding resulted in cutbacks in prevention and screening programs. Rutgers-restricted Access
 
Part 2: Housing Crisis Causes Health Crisis: Lead Prevention in Newark Proves Almost Impossible.
Judy Peet and Russell Ben-Ali. November 5, 2001.
Part of a Newark Star-Ledger series on lead poisoning.
Childhood Lead Poisoning in New Jersey Annual Report: FY 2001; FY 2006; FY 2010; FY 2015;
Chapter 3: Spotlight on Newark City. "Newark has the heaviest burden of childhood lead poisoning in the entire state..."

Vaccinations

Health, United States, 2010
Table 82: Vaccination coverage among children 19-35 months of age, by state and selected urban area: United States, selected years 2002-2009.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.