In 2016 for the Rutgers 250th Celebration, former faculty member Tara Maharjan began creating coloring pages to highlight materials located in Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives. These pages can be used as a stress busting activity as well as a self-directed hands-on learning experience with a scholarly resource. To download these pages visit the following LINK.
In the images above you see two sample coloring pages as well as the cover of Naked Ladies, Naked Ladies, Naked Ladies, a coloring book created in 1984 by Lynda Barry. In 2019, Barry was the recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship, a prestigious award for creative work. The purpose of the MacArthur Fellows Program is to enable recipients to exercise their own creative instincts for the benefit of human society. A hard copy of this coloring book can also be found in the Rutgers Art Library Special Collections.
If you love to color in general check out #ColorOurCollections which was launched by The New York Academy of Medicine Library in 2016. #ColorOurCollections is an annual coloring festival on social media during which libraries, museums, archives and other cultural institutions around the world share free coloring content featuring images from their collections.
The annual #ColorOurCollections week generally occurs on the first full week of February, when new coloring books are released on this website and shared throughout the week by the participating institutions on social media. The coloring books from 2021 and previous years remain accessible year-round for free download.
Institutions can find out more about participation on the Guidelines for Institutions page.
© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.