Guide to Resources in the Alexander Library
Genealogical Resources: Archibald S. Alexander Library
Compiled by Albert C. King and Janet T. Riemer. July 2002.
Rutgers University Libraries Genealogical Resources
Most genealogical materials at Rutgers can be found in Special Collections and University Archives which is housed in the Alexander Library in New Brunswick. In addition to the Libraries' own New Jersey holdings, the collection includes the Library of the New Jersey Daughters of the American Revolution and the papers of the Genealogical Society of New Jersey. Available material includes transcriptions of family Bible records, gravestone inscriptions, church records, papers and genealogical compilations on New Jersey families, and many other printed materials. A detailed guide Genealogical Resources: Archibald S. Alexander Library is available.
Special Collections and University Archives Hours:
- Tuesday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. year round.
Saturday, 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. during the academic year.
Closed from Christmas to New Year's, Martin Luther King Day, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day and Thanksgiving.
More information about Special Collections, including travel directions, is available at their home page.
In addition to the New Jersey materials housed in Special Collections, there are also major microform collections available at other Rutgers Libraries. The Alexander Library in New Brunswick has all available enumeration schedules for New Jersey federal and state censuses, collections of New Jersey city directories, and many New Jersey newspapers in its Microforms Collection. The Robeson Library in Camden also has the Camden/Southern Jersey portion of many of these in its collections. Printed materials of interest may also be found in other Rutgers libraries.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Stephanie Bartz |
Contact Info Archibald S. Alexander Library Rutgers, The State University 169 College Ave. New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163 Phone: 848-932-6113 FAX: 732-932-1101 sbartz@rci.rutgers.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
