General and Multidisciplinary
- Bartleby.comA searchable collection of full-text materials divided into four categories: reference, verse, fiction, and nonfiction.
- Digital Book Index"A union catalog of electronic books, texts, and documents." Provides access to more than 140,000 English language records for both commercial and non-commercial eBooks from more than 1,800 publishers and private publishing organizations. Full-text for more than half of the titles is available free. Includes most major disciplines and ranges from the highly scholarly to the contemporary and popular. Each record lists author, title, edition, format, price (if any), and publishing organization.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) [Rutgers Restricted]The basic Rutgers collection primarily includes eBooks in the fields of computer science, engineering, and technology. The publicly accessible eBook Collection includes many classic works of literature and history, as well as speeches, government documents, and other resources. Formerly called NetLibrary.
- EuropeanaA multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized books, newspapers, film clips, maps, photographs and documents from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library [Rutgers Restricted]An extensive collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources covering a broad range of humanities, social science, science, and multidisciplinary areas.
- Google BooksSearch the full-text of a growing collection books and view information about each book. Full-text is available for those books that are out of copyright. Sample pages or brief excerpts may be available for material still under copyright.
- Hathi Trust: a Shared Digital RepositoryA collaborative repository of archived digitized collections from a group of major research libraries.
- Inlibris - The Literary DirectoryIncludes etexts, writers, agents, books, ezines, prizes, publishers, reviews, genres, dictionaries, bookstores, libraries, and other literary and language- or book-related sites.
- Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts ArchiveA searchable open-access archive of electronic texts.
- Just Free BooksA search engine for locating public domain texts, open books, free audio books, ad-supported books and more on more than 700 websites.
- Online Books PageLinks to 40,000+ full-text books online. Searchable by author or title.
- Project GutenbergBrowse the full title or author listing, or search for a book in this collection of downloadable etexts. Includes classic works that are in the public domain, with the majority of the texts being in English.
- Sage Reference Online [Rutgers Restricted]A large collection of authoritative encyclopedias in a broad range of fields including multidisciplinary areas such as anthropology, environment, health, and psychology.
- Universal Digital Library - Million Book CollectionThe goal of the Project is to digitize a million books to create a free-to-read, searchable digital library of materials in multiple languages.
- World Digital LibraryPrimary materials from countries and cultures around the world, inlcuding books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, and more.
Government Publications
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 [Rutgers Restricted]A full text database of over 6,000 publications including every legislative and executive document of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses (1789-1817). Additional material from 1817 to 1838 chronologically overlaps with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
- Congressional Documents OnlineA full-text archive of selected documents of the United States Congress from the collection of the Rutgers - Camden School of Law. A work in progress that includes Hearings dating from the 1970s to 1998.
- Law Library Microform Consortium Digital [Rutgers Restricted]Includes a wide range of full-text archival material broken down into U.S. Federal (executive, legislative, and judicial branches), U.S. States, U.S. Territories, Anglo-American Collections, Foreign Jurisdictions, International Law and Organizations, and Multi-Jurisdiction Subject Collections. Online collections are incomplete but new material is added each month.
- OECD iLibrary [Rutgers Restricted]Includes thematic book collections, online periodicals, reference titles, and the OECD statistical databases.
- ProQuest Congressional Publications [Rutgers Restricted]Indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
- U.S. Congressional Serial SetA full text database of committee reports from the 104th Congress (1995-96) forward related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 [Rutgers Restricted]A full text database of key publications of the United States Congress, including the journals, reports, and documents from 15th through the 96th Congresses (1817 to 1980). A companion database, the American State Papers, 1789-1838, covers the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817) and chronologically overlaps the Serial Set by including additional publications from 1817-1838.
- World Bank: Open Knowledge RepositoryIncludes books, papers, and journal articles across a wide range of topics and all regions of the world. World Development Report, and other annual flagship publications, academic books, practitioner volumes, and the Bank's publicly disclosed country studies and analytical reports are among the collection.
Stephanie Bartz |
Contact Info Archibald S. Alexander Library Rutgers, The State University 169 College Ave. New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163 Phone: 732-932-7129 ext.122 FAX: 732-932-1101 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
