Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

International Youth Literature Collection: The International Youth Literature Collection

The International Youth Literature Collection, established in 2019, is a representative collection of children’s and young adult books, both translated and in their original language, that celebrate writing, visual style and design from outside of this country.

Recently Added

Vision and Mission Statements

Beginnings

This poster created by Librarian Janet Croft explains the beginnings of the collection. She presented at a Poster session for the New Jersey Library Association Annual Conference in 2019.

 

Opening Reception

Books as Bridges, the opening reception for the collection was held on May 2, 2019.  A display of the IBBY Silent Book Traveling Exhibit was hosted during the month of May at the Alexander Library. 

Donations

This collection would not have been possible without many generous donations. We would like to thank:

The Northport-East Northport Public Library

Dr. Marc Aronson

Doris Gebel

Annette Goldsmith

The Global Literature in Libraries Translated YA Book Prize Judges

Abigail Hsu

Vicky Smith

Publisher Spotlight

 

 

The Collection

We wish to thank the students of the International Youth Literature Class of Spring 2020 and Josh Cohen who completed entries to the database during his Field Experience in 2020.  

Map Representing Location of Books in the Collection

This interactive map was created by Susan Oldenburg who is the Research Support/Geographic Information Systems Specialist at Rutgers. 

Award Winning Books in the Collection

This is a link to books in the collection that were recognized by major awards in 2020. 

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.