Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Institute of Jazz Studies: Web

Web

From performance reviews, article abstracts, oral history interviews, to film shorts, RUL offers a wide variety of information sources, all available online.  RUL pays for access to a large number of subscription databases and streaming media services with resources related to jazz history.  Links to those most relevant to jazz history and research, with brief descriptions, are located on the Databases page.  Because these are subscription services, access is limited to Rutgers community members with a valid Rutgers NetID and password or to users who access these subscription sites in a public computer lab on campus.  To this end, IJS visitors are welcome to use the computer lab on the first floor of the Dana Library.

RUL has published a couple web pages to help you successfully search the databases.  The first one describes how to first find and then search within the databases.  The second one describes how to search across the databases using Articles+.   If you find a citation for an article that is not available at Rutgers, you can request a copy through inter-library loan.  This service is only available for Rutgers community members. 

The databases and web services to which Rutgers subscribes vary considerably in their search interfaces.  By learning how they work and how to choose and apply your search terms carefully, you will be able to search with greater precision and more quickly find relevant search results.  Given the variety of tools, you should consider using a database’s “Help” features for search tips and ways to narrow or filter your search.  Please always feel free to ask an IJS staff member or Dana Reference Desk Librarian for assistance. 

Web Search Tutorial Video

For best viewing, select full screen mode.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.