The Institute of Jazz Studies holds the largest collection of jazz periodical literature in the world. Most of the journal titles are searchable in the Rutgers University Library catalog, and many of the articles in these publications have been indexed and are searchable in the databases described on the Web tab of this guide. Articles are often accessible electronically as well as in print. Below is a description of some of the most relevant journal titles with current research in jazz.
[Note: clicking on the links below will redirect you either to the journal website or to the Rutgers University Library catalog record with a link for Rutgers users to access the electronic version.]
The Journal of Jazz Studies, an open-access online journal from the Institute of Jazz Studies, was launched in 2011, replacing the Annual Review of Jazz Studies, print copies of which are available at the Institute.
Jazz Perspectives is available to Rutgers users anywhere with a Net ID and public users at computer terminals on a Rutgers campus. The IJS holds print copies of Jazz Perspectives through 2010 and of the Jazz Research Journal and its predecessor, The Source through 2013. Issues from 1995 through 2010 of the International Jazz Archives Journal (published by the University of Pittsburgh Sonny Rollins International Jazz Archives) are also available to read in-person at the IJS. Current Research in Jazz is an open-access online journal.
Critical Studies in Improvisation is an open-access online journal that focuses broadly on improvised music, including some articles about jazz. Other peer-reviewed journals that partially focus on jazz include American Music, the Journal of the Society of American Music, the Black Music Research Journal, the ARSC Journal (Association for Recorded Sound Collections), and Popular Music and Society.
For lists of more publications, especially non-U.S., see the List of Jazz Magazines and Periodicals Worldwide maintained by Jazz-Institut Darmstadt.
Major Jazz-related magazines and periodicals that have ceased publication, such as The Black Perspective in Music, Jazz Monthly, the Jazz Education Journal, Jazz Review, Metronome, The Mississippi Rag, Signal to Noise, and Record Research, are available to read in-person at the IJS.
Many of the following magazines and periodicals are also available at the Institute.
In addition to the journals and magazines that are searchable in the Rutgers University Library catalog, the IJS holds a large collection of rare and sometimes uniqe jazz periodical literature that is only partially cataloged and available on site. Below is a list of the titles in this collection. Please contact the IJS for more information about a specific issue or if you don't see the title you're looking for, as the Institute also has a sizeable collection of uncataloged newsletters. Access to some of these issues is restricted due to their fragile physical condition.
© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.