Gender and Sexuality in U.S. History

Encyclopedias

Scholarly encyclopedias can give you an overview of a topic as well as some basic bibliography.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America

Marc Stein. Farmington Hills, Cengage, 2003. 3 vols.

More than 500 scholarly entries on LGBT identities, communities, cultures, movements, and issues. Rutgers-restricted Access

The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ+ Studies

Abbie Elizabeth Goldberg, editor. 2nd edition. Thousand Oaks, SAGE Publications, 2024.

Substantive signed entries, many with a historical framework, on LGBTQ topics and issues. Rutgers-restricted Access

Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia

George Haggerty, editor. New York, Routledge, 2000. Rutgers-restricted Access

Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia

Bonnie Zimmerman, editor. New York, Routledge, 2000 Rutgers-restricted Access

Queer Cinema in America: An Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Films, Characters, and Stories

Aubrey Malone. ABC-CLIO, 2019.

"Alphabetically arranged reference entries provide fundamental and critical information about films, directors, actors, themes, and other topics related to queer cinema in America." Rutgers-restricted Access

Gay New York: Gender, Urban Culture, and the Makings of the Gay Male World, 1890-1940

George Chauncey. New York, Basic Books, 1994. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Ambivalent Affinities: A Political History of Blackness and Homosexuality After World War II

Jennifer Dominique Jones. Chapel Hill, University of North Carolina Press, 2023. Rutgers-restricted Access,. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Histories of the Transgender Child

Julian Gill-Peterson. Minneapolis, University of Minnesota Press, 2018. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Contested Curriculum: LGBTQ History Goes to School

Don Romesburg, Carolyn Laub, and Rick Oculo. New Brunswick, Rutgers University Press, 2025. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Queer Career: Sexuality and Work in Modern America

Margot Canaday. Princeton, Princeton University Press, 2023. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Vice Patrol: Cops, Courts, and the Struggle Over Urban Gay Life Before Stonewall

Anna Lvovsky. Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 2021. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Buying Gay: How Physique Entrepreneurs Sparked a Movement

David K. Johnson. New York, Columbia University Press, 2019. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

In the Shadow of Diagnosis: Psychiatric Power and Queer Life

Regina Kunzel. University of Chicago Press, 2024. Rutgers-restricted Access (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Her Neighbor’s Wife: A History of Lesbian Desire Within Marriage

Lauren Jae Gutterman. Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press, 2020. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Queerness of Home: Gender, Sexuality, and the Politics of Domesticity after World War I

Stephen Vider. Chicago, Chicago University Press, 2022. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Sex Is As Sex Does: Governing Transgender Identity

Paisley Currah. New York, New York University Press, 2022. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)

Queer Newark: Stories of Resistance, Love, and Community

Whitney Strub, editor. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 2024. Rutgers-restricted Access. (Unlimited simultaneous users)