Gender and Sexuality in U.S. History

In most cases, feature films to which Rutgers users currently have access will be found in QuickSearch

To search for a specific title,

• Select "Advanced Search" (on the bottom right of the basic search box).
• Use the pull-down menu to change the first "Any Field" to "Title"
• Use the pull-down menu to change the first "Contains" to "Exact"
• Enter your title
• Use the pull-down menu to change the "Resource Type" to "Video/Film"

Film Review Index. 2 vols

Patricia King Hanson & Stephen L. Hanson, editors. Phoenix, Ariz., Oryx Press, 1986-

One of the best sources for finding early film reviews, the Film Review Index cites reviews to over 7000 feature films released between 1914 and 1985. Vol. 1: 1882-1949; Vol. 2: 1950-1985. In addition to popular magazines, the index also lists reviews in trade publications, newspapers, anthologies, and selected books.

Dana Call Number: Ref. PN1995 .F513 1986

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective. 1900- .

Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from the late 19th century to 1982. An excellent source for finding film reviews.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text

Includes Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.   Rutgers-restricted Access

Paley Center for Media Database

The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements. The database includes synopsis of programs.

American History in Video

Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.   Rutgers-restricted Access

ARTstor

Approximately 700,000 images with citations in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Rutgers-restricted Access

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 685,000 images digitized from NYPL collections.

Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century

Search or browse a rich collection of images taken from the collections of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library.

Women's History Resources in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division

Suggested searched by topic areas.

You can also use Google Image Search to look for images of particular people or subjects.

Smithsonian Global Sound. Over 2900 online audio recordings (over 42,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music. Rutgers-restricted Access

DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music. CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. Over 1,200 complete CDs (7,500 compositions). Rutgers-restricted Access