Gender and Sexuality in U.S. History

You can use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900

The full text of articles, advertisements, illustrations etc., from American popular and literary magazines and journals that began publication between 1741 and 1900. Search by author, title, article type, publication title, date, and keywords in the full-text. Rutgers-restricted Access

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search

Search across the six ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001), the Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 – December 31, 2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), the Washington Post (1877-2005); the Camden Courier Post (1950- ) and the New Jersey Collection (1876- ). Rutgers-restricted Access.

Historical New York Times

Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Historical Washington Post

Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 2005. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online

Search or browse the Brooklyn Daily Eagle from 1841 to 1902. The Daily Eagle was published as a daily newspaper for 114 years; among the editors of the Eagle were Walt Whitman, Thomas Kinsella, St. Clair McKelway, Cleveland Rodgers, and Frank D. Schroth. A project of Brooklyn Public Library.

Chronicling America: Search the Newspaper Pages

An ongoing project of the Library of Congress to digitize America's historical newspapers. From New York currently includes the Evening World (8/1/1890-3/31/1909); the New York Tribune (1880-1922); and The Sun (7/1/1879-12/31/1910).

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.

African-American Newspapers

Searchable full-text database consisting of:
Freedom's Journal (New York, 1827-1829)
Colored American (New York, 1837-1841)
North Star (Rochester, N.Y., 1847-1851)
National Era (Washington, DC, 1847-1850)
Frederick Douglass' Paper, (Rochester, N.Y., 1851-1852)
Provincial Freeman, (Toronto, 1854-1857)
Christian Recorder, (Toronto, 1861-1862)
Rutgers-restricted Access

Chicago Defender

The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S. Search and display the full text of articles published between 1910 and 1975.Rutgers-restricted Access.

Alternative Press Index. 1969- . Index to journals, magazines, and newspapers offering an alternative, radical, or left perspective. Online beginning with 1991.