Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arts Culture and Media: Everyday Data

Resources for finding data and developing information evaluation skills for the Everyday Data course.

Referenced: Visual Essays

Business and Industry Data

IbisWorld

"The Industry Reports cover over 700 industries in the United States as categorized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), as well as 600 specialized industry reports, 75 global industry reports, and 200 reports on industry sectors in China." (Rutgers University Libraries 2018a)

MarketLine

"MarketLine provides original industry, company, market analysis, and country reports and data based on published research and primary and secondary data sources." (Rutgers University Libraries, 2018b)

Mergent Online

"Mergent Online (formerly FIS Online) is a database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies." (Rutgers University Libraries 2018c)

Rutgers University Libraries. (2018a). "IBISWorld" database description, 2018. https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/ibisworld.

Rutgers University Libraries. (2018b). "Marketline" database description, 2018. https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/marketline.

Rutgers University Libraries. (2018c). "Mergent Online" database description, 2018. https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/mergent_online.

Census Bureau Data Resources

The Census Bureau collects tons of data. You can look at the data by going to the Explore Data home page, or by clicking on the Browse by Topic tab on the main Census Bureau page.

Two of the most important sources of demographic data for the United States are the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey. This pamphlet explains the difference between the two datasets.Understanding what each data set is for will help you evaluate which you should use for a particular need or project.

American FactFinder is the portal you can use to access all Census Bureau data. It does not split products out according to their origins, so you may not know which dataset you are pulling data from without investigation.

Census Bureau Decennial Census

The Decennial Census, also known as "the Census," is collected every 10 years to measure the population in order to create and adjust Congressional districts.

Decennial Census Data

American Community Survey

The American Community Survey is taken every year with a smaller population and more detailed questions about housing, economic conditions and social conditions.

American Community Survey Data

 

Data about Jobs

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Occupational Requirements

"The ORS gathers job-related information regarding physical demands, environmental conditions, mental and cognitive demands, and vocational preparation requirements." (Office of Compensation and Working Conditions, 2018)

Occupational Outlook Handbook

"The OOH can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations." (Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections, 2018)

Office of Compensation and Working Conditions. (2018). "Occupational Requirements Survey." Washington, D.C.: United States Bureau of Labor Statistics., 2018. https://www.bls.gov/ors/.

Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections. (2018). "Occupational Outlook Handbook." Washington, D.C.: United States Bureau of Labor Statistics., 2018. https://www.bls.gov/ooh/.

General Data Sources

Data Aggregators

DataUSA

PolicyMap

Statista

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.