Industry Databases
- IBISWorld Industry Reports provide trends, statistics, and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates for over 1,000 industry sectors; and Procurement Reports show price drivers and pricing trends, supply market characteristics, and supply chain risks.
- Statista integrates statistical data from over 80,000 topics such as business, education, finance, media, politics, society, and technology. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be downloaded in Excel, PDF, PNG, or PowerPoint formats or embedded in Web pages.
- Business Source Premier covers business and management topics including company histories, competitive intelligence, country reports, industry profiles, and product development. It contains citations, lengthy abstracts, and in most cases, the full-text of articles from 8,000 U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.
- Mintel Reports features hundreds of consumer product and service category reports covering both the U.S. and global markets, with a focus on the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends.
- Hundreds of industry sectors for major countries around the world are covered by MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor 360).
Supply Chain Data
- Mergent Online - profiles of over 6,000 U.S. public companies, including competitors, suppliers, partners, and corporate customers (accessible via the Supply Chain tab at the top).
- ProcurementIQ - collection of over 1,000 commercial and industrial product and service procurement reports covering price drivers and pricing trends, total cost of ownership, supply market characteristics, supply chain risks, and the buying-decision process.
- ThomasNet - over 500,000 detailed supplier profiles and insights.
Government Resources
- Start with the Business and Economy Portal from the US Census Bureau for access to many different data sets. You will need to know the NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) code for your industry, and being familiar with The North American Product Classification System (NAPCS) will also prove useful.
- The Economic Census, conducted every five years, covers retail trade, wholesale trade, service industries, construction industries, manufactures, mineral industries, transportation, communications, utilities, and financial, insurance, and real estate industries.
- Over 100 industries are covered in the Industries at a Glance series of reports on employment, earnings, and workplace trends, from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- The number of establishments with employees in each industry may be found in County Business Patterns from the Census Bureau. Data is also available for Metro areas and by ZIP code.
- Compare manufacturing data over time via the Industrial Statistics Database: INDSTAT 4. Located on the UNIDO (UN Industrial Development Organization) platform, it contains manufacturing sector data from 1990 to the present.