Medical Images and Videos

• Resources listed here are licensed by Rutgers University Libraries. NetID login is required for off-campus access.

• Please also check other sections from this LibGuide for open-access medical images and videos.

• Before downloading images or video clips, you should always consult the website's copyright policy. Click on the Home button of this guide for information on citing images and videos.

AccessMedicine - the Infographic Guide to Medicine -- (Access is limited to RBHS students and faculty only)

The Infographic Guide on ACM is a collection of 600+ one-page medical infographics are high-yield summaries that span 16 specialty areas. They also serve as a point of entry into the core foundational content found all across the AccessMedicine platform.

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination -- (Access is limited to RBHS students and faculty only)

These streaming videos show step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions and contains expanded discussions of health history taking, interviewing, and describing findings. Graphics illustrate key components of anatomy and physiology.

Contents: v.1. Head, eyes and ears--v.2. Nose, mouth and neck--v.3. Thorax and lungs--v.4. Cardiovascular : neck vessels and heart--v.5. Cardiovascular : peripheral vascular system--v.6. Breasts and axillae--v.7. Abdomen--v.8. Male genitalia, hernias, rectum, and prostate--v.9. Female genitalia, anus, and rectum--v.10. Musculoskeletal system--v.11. Nervous system : cranial nerves and motor system--v.12. Nervous system : sensory system and reflexesv--v.13. Approach to patient--v.14. Head-to-toe assessment of the adult--v.15. Head-to toe assessment of the infant--v.16. Head-to-toe assessment of the child--v.17. Head-to-toe assessment of the older adult--v.18. General survey, vital signs, and skin.

Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection -- 

The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection includes over 1,500 seminar-style presentations containing the latest research and developments as well as the disciplines fundamentals from many of the world's leading experts, including Nobel Laureates. The talks can be embedded into websites, web pages and learning portals. The talks are also mobile compatible.

ClinicalKey --

ClinicalKey provides full-text access to over 500 Elsevier journals, 1,000 e-books, and 9,000 medical and procedural videos.  Additionally, it provides access to clinical practice guidelines, clinical trials, First Consult reviews, patient handouts, and the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed database. There are also collections of images, drug monographs, and access to Procedures Consult. Users can export content for use in PowerPoint presentation. Use the Image Filter to retrive images from any topic search.

JAMA Multimedia --

Contains interactive figures, videos and other multimedia from JAMA.

JoVE -- Journal of Visualized Experiments

JOVE CLINICAL AND TRANSLATIONAL MEDICINE --

JOVE GENERAL --

JOVE IMMUNOLOGY AND INFECTION -- 

JOVE NEUROSCIENCE --

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. JoVE was established as a new tool in life science publication and communication with participation by scientists from leading research institutions. JoVE takes advantage of video technology to capture and transmit the facets and intricacies of life science research.

New England Journal of Medicine Multimedia --

These teaching videos from the New England Journal of Medicine are intended to help students, trainees, and younger physicians learn procedural techniques from experienced colleagues. Each video is from five to eight minutes long and is accompanied online by a printable summary to supplement the video. Available in streaming and download versions.

VAST: Academic Video Online --

VAST: Academic Video Online is a large multidisciplinary database of searchable streaming video.

Visible Body -- 

Visible Body is a 3D anatomy visualization database. The Libraries have access to 5 modules on the Visible Body platform. Each module is available both as a desktop site and a mobile app. The 5 modules are: 1. Human Anatomy Atlas; 2. Muscle Premium; 3. Skeleton Premium; 4. Physiology Animations; 5. Heart & Circulatory Premium.

Anatomy of the immune system b-cell proliferation and differentiation. Contributed by Sandoz Pharmaceuticals Corporation. From National Library of Medicine, Images from the History of Medicine (NLM)