Medical Images and Videos

• Before downloading images or video clips, you should always consult the website's copyright policy. Click on the Home button of this guide for information on citing images and videos.

• Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences users: Please also check out the Image/Video Databases @ Rutgers tab for Rutgers Libraries licensed resources covering history of medicine.

Historical Anatomies on the Web -- Historical Anatomies on the Web is a digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance, with priority placed upon the earliest and/or the best edition of a work in NLM's possession.

Images from the History of Medicine -- Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to over 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).

MEDSpace Digital Repository -- A collection of roughly 4,000 items from the Duke University Medical Center Library's Historical Images in Medicine (HIM) database. Included are digitized versions of Georg Bartisch's Ophthalmodouleia, Das ist Augendienst (1583), The Four Seasons (17th Century), Dr. Howard T. Stewart's album of eminent physicians and scientists (mid-19th Century), and a collection of over 500 medically-related bookplates. Available to the public.

National Museum of Health and Medicine -- National Museum of Health and Medicine's unofficial image collection on Flickr, offerring 3,640 images.

Rutgers George F. Smith Library's History of Medicine Special Collection -- This Special Collection is the only collection in the state entirely devoted to providing resources in the history of medicine in New Jersey.

Wellcome Images -- Wellcome Images is constantly updated with new clinical, and biomedical and historical images from the Wellcome Library, Europe's leading resource for the study of history of medicine which recently re-launched as part of the new and forthcoming Wellcome Collection. All content has been made available under a Creative Commons License, which allows users to copy, distribute and display the images, provided the source is fully attributed and it is used for non-commercial purposes. Available to the public.

Hua: Jushikei hakki (Shi si jing fa hui. Japanese & Chinese), Page 35r. From Historical Anatomies on the Web