Advanced Research for Journalism

Want to know if the Rutgers Libraries own a particular film?

In most cases, feature films to which Rutgers users currently have access will be found in QuickSearch

To search for a specific title,

• Select "Advanced Search" (to the right of the basic search box).
• Use the pull-down menu to change the first "Any Field" to "Title"
• Use the pull-down menu to change the first "Contains" to "Exact"
• Enter your title
• Use the pull-down menu to change the "Resource Type" to "Video/Film"

C-Span Video Library

Digital version of every C-Span program aired since 1987. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person.

TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive

Online access to NBC and CNN news broadcasts from August 1968 to the present. In addition, the database provides indexing for nightly news programs broadcast by the other national television networks, ABC and CBS; abstracts of each story within a regular news program are fully searchable. Rutgers-restricted Access

Paley Center for Media Database

The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of nearly 150,000 television and radio programs, including news programs, and advertisements. The database includes synopsis of programs. The Edward John Noble Scholars Room has carrels equipped with an audio/visual monitor for viewing and listening to the Paley Center's collection of programs and computers that access the library's database.

American History in Video

Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.   Rutgers-restricted Access