Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Resources from Research Toolkits
"Whether you are just getting started, or have been active in research for awhile, we have tools and guidance for all aspects of a research project, so that you don’t have to start from scratch. This web site is organized by phase of research, and all of the resources here have been vetted and curated by our team."
Each of the links below provide insight into the research process. The SCTR Research Toolkit website provides a sense of the structure of the research process although some of the content is not pertinent to Rutgers the institution or its researchers. Refer to "University Resources" for research resources offered at Rutgers. The ResearchToolkit.org website provides a sense of the structure of the research process as well. It also provides articles that may be helpful in guiding research.
Research Resources from Funding Databases
Searchable database of research funding opportunities available funding from federal, non-federal, and international sponsors in all disciplines.
Requires Subscription $ "GrantSearch, the Grant Resource Center’s (GRC) proprietary search engine, includes 2,000 private and federal funding opportunities screened for recurring deadlines and higher education eligibility. GrantSearch is available for use by faculty, administrators, staff, students, and partners of four-year institutions. Database entries include programs confirmed for higher education’s eligibility as either partner or applicant."
"GrantSelect Biomedical and Health Care includes funding opportunities for medical and nursing research, biomedicine, health care professionals, and organizations providing health care at the community level. Examples of areas covered include clinical and programmatic studies in gerontology and mental health; clinical studies of the cause, detection, and elimination of cancer; health care delivery and maintenance; and studies of infectious and immunologic diseases, including programs researching all areas related to AIDS. Funding sources include the National Institutes of Health agencies and other federal government agencies, professional associations, foundations, and corporations that make health care a giving priority."
Requires Subscription $ "Research Professional is our intuitive platform for online access to all our news and funding services. It provides access to your entire organisation through a convenient site licence. So you can subscribe to any of our services and you and all your colleagues will be able to access the services through Research Professional. It also provides sophisticated tools to help researchers and managers within an organisation work together more effectively. And increasingly it integrates with internal systems such as Current Research Information Systems to give users a seamless experience."
Samaritan Health Services - ResearchRaven
"ResearchRaven is designed to advance health research, program development and scholarship by enabling users to efficiently find current information about funding opportunities, professional conferences, calls for papers and other research-related materials."
Samaritan Health Services - ScanGrant
"ScanGrant is designed to facilitate the search for funding sources to enhance individual and community health. The funding sources listed here may be of interest to virtually anyone associated with the health field – medical researchers, social workers, nurses, students, community-based health educators, academics and others."
Requires Subscription $ "SPIN Global Suite is the single solution for Researchers and Principal Investigators who desire to spend less time doing the arduous and labor-intensive steps of searching, but still be presented with ideally-suited and perfectly matched funding opportunities."
Research Resources from Funding Newsletters
Chronicle of Philanthropy
"The Chronicle provides news and information for executives of tax-exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, social services, and other fields, as well as fund raisers, professional employees of foundations, institutional investors, corporate grant makers, and charity donors. Along with news, it offers such service features as lists of grants, fundraising ideas and techniques, statistics, reports on tax and court rulings, summaries of books, and a calendar of events."
Research Resources from Private Funders
There are so many private funding sources to be found that it would not be possible to list all of them here. Here is one private funding resource that is "close-to-home" to get you started.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation - Grants
"Through our investments in our grantees, we seek to improve the health and health care of all Americans. In 2012 we awarded $359 million in grants in seven program areas."
Research Resources from Funding Organizations
“Established in 1956 and today supported by close to 550 foundations, the Foundation Center [provides] information about philanthropy worldwide. Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people […] to the resources they need […]. The Center maintains [a] database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants […]. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy [...]. The Center [serves through] its five regional library/learning centers and its network of 470 funding information centers located in public libraries, community foundations, and educational institutions nationwide and around the world.”
National Organization of Research Development Professionals - Funding Opportunities
"In an environment of changing research funding resources, many universities have recognized that having a strong institutional knowledge base to support their research enterprise has proven to be an invaluable resource. This recognition is realized in the increasing numbers of professionals dedicated to providing research development support. These professionals perform a broad array of activities designed to facilitate individual faculty members, teams of researchers, and central research administrations in attracting extramural research funding, creating research relationships, and developing and implementing strategies that increase institutional competitiveness. We are pleased to welcome these individuals to NORDP, a professional organization specifically created to meet their interests and needs!"
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
"A list of opportunities for fellowships, grants and other awards, including awards from members of the Partners project."
Society of Research Administrators International - Funding Information/Opportunities
"The Society of Research Administrators (SRA) International Website -- the premier online destination for the field of research administration. We serve research administrators around the world in all settings to include universities, hospitals, nonprofits, the government and for profit companies. The diversity of our members and their areas of interest within research administration are a key strength of the Society."
University of California-Berkley - Funding Opportunities for New and Young Faculty
"These programs are intended for late postdoctoral investigators and new faculty, usually those at or below the rank of Assistant Professor."