Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Nursing Undergraduate Student Library Research Guide--RUL: Journal articles

Information to support undergraduate students as they become proficient users of library resources and services

Creating your search strategy

         Two librarians at the Rutgers University Libraries in New Brunswick authored a research guide to help students get started with library research.  Their page on developing a search strategy will be very useful to you.  Please follow the link: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/content.php?pid=405149&sid=3385694

Database suggestions

Academic Search Premier - A multi-disciplinary database with more than 12,200 peer-reviewed, indexed and abstracted journals.  More than 4,000 peer reviewed journal titles available in full-text.  For 150 journals, PDF backfiles extend to 1975. Updated daily

 For a quick tutorial on how to use the advanced search interface, the RUL default screen, please watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhSVSLRH8Vs

 

CINAHL - Provides comprehensive coverage of both the practical and theoretical literature in nursing from 1981 to the present.  Includes indexing from over 500 nursing journals.  Updated weekly.

 EBSCO, producer of CINAHL, maintains a YouTube channel with tutorials on using the databases.  See if there is something to answer your questions.  The tutorials are usually a few minutes in length.  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBC_CPlZqhatEZJN_oIldtg

A tutorial from EBSCO on using the advanced search option in CINAHL.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=shxg4k8aauo

Text support from EBSCO on maximizing the options offered by CINAHL.  http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=4256

 

MedlineFrom the National Library of Medicine, indexes the content of 4,600 biomedical journals.  Includes coverage from 1950 to the present.   Nursing journal subset limits results to citations from 250 titles in nursing.  Equivalent to former print index, International Nursing Index. . Updated daily

 Ovid provides a comprehensive 30 minute tutorial on the use of Medline.  There are several sections so feel free to choose what you want from the left sidebar.  https://www.brainshark.com/wkovid/vu?pi=zGizVDdlez34XJz0&cmpid=Brainshark:MedlineIntro

 

 PsycINFO  – Provides citations and abstract for the scholarly literature in psychology from 1872 to the present.  Includes indexing from more than 2,000 journals in multiple languages.  Updated weekly.

 Ovid provides a comprehensive 30 minute tutorial on the use of PsycINFO.  There are several sections so feel free to choose what you want from the left sidebar.  https://www.brainshark.com/wkovid/vu?pi=zGXzPBOtoz34XJz0&cmpid=Brainshark:PsycInfoOvidSP

 

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection ProQuest Social Sciences Collection abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals.  International in scope, content covers education, language and linguistics, sociology, and political science from 1871 to the present.  Updating varies.

ProQuest’s YouTube channel has a brief introduction to using the Advanced Search option on their databases.  This will get you started in using ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XL8k6mxTz7M