Skip to main content

Nursing Undergraduate Student Library Research Guide--RUL: Books

Information to support undergraduate students as they become proficient users of library resources and services

Catalog Quick Search

Search all Rutgers Libraries for books, videos, media, microforms, and other materials.

Basic Search
Advanced Search
Call Number Search
My Library Account
Reserves
This just in... New stuff in the Libraries

University Libraries Toolbar

          The Rutgers University Libraries Toolbar is a free Firefox browser extension that places a visual cue, R, in popular webpages to link directly to University Libraries resources.  It adds new functionality to the "right- click menu" of your mouse.  Easy to install and easy to use.

Searching for e-books owned by the University Libraries

In addition to the e-books in the University Libraries’ online catalog, there are several databases that include e-books relevant to the health sciences.  At the present time, almost all of these e-books do not have records in the catalog so finding them will require separate searches of the databases.  You will find that most of the databases provide title and subject searching.  They offer multiple options to display the e-book such as pdf for downloading or reading the book online.  When you create an account, you will be able to save a list of the e-book titles you want to track for a while.  Some databases also provide an option to export citations to a citation manager like EndNote or RefWorks. 

ACCESSMedicine  Includes 45 medical reference books in clinical medicine.  The latest editions of such standard texts as Harrison’s Online, Goodman and Gilman’s Pharmacology, Williams Obstetrics and Lange’s Current diagnosis and treatment series are available.

AccessPharmacy  Described as an online curricular resource for pharmacy education, the database includes the latest editions of a few standard titles such as Pharmacotherapy: a pathophysiologic approach, Goodman and Gilman’s The Pharmacological basis of therapeutics, and Drug information: a guide for pharmacists.

Books@Ovid  Includes 291 e-book titles selected by the University Libraries’ health sciences librarians.  There are 103 titles in nursing available.

ClinicalKey  Includes over 1,000 e-books in medicine.  1995+

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)  A multidisciplinary database with approximately 1,600 books in nursing.  1985+

HathiTrust Digital Library  Includes books, government publications and other publications as well as unpublished materials.  Reports from local, regional, national and international government agencies might be especially valuable when you are working on literature reviews.  While millions of items are included, not all are available in full-text.  Creating an account will increase the number of items you can display.  Others can be requested through the University Libraries’ Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Service.

NCBI Bookshelf  An online searchable collection of full-text books, reports, databases, and other scholarly literature in the health and life sciences from the National Library of Medicine.  Approximately 4,300 titles describe medicine and nursing topics with 2,500 of interest to nurses.  The international roster of publishers includes the National Academy Press and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Proquest eBook Central A multidisciplinary database with over 130,000 scholarly books available from many publishers.  About 500 titles in nursing are included.

PsychiatryOnline  Provided by the American Psychiatric Association, this database includes a full-text copy of the latest edition of the DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual) and accompanying tools for application.  Access is also available to the Association’s textbooks such as The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry and the Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment.

R2 Digital Library  This database includes books offered by Rittenhouse.  There are 19 nursing texts including the latest editions of basic textbooks in 17 specialty areas.   2003+

STAT!Ref Medical  Offers current full-text medical and drug information from an online library of 50 reference texts.  Searching retrieves book titles as well as chapters.

Requesting books unavailable through RUL

Using E-Z Borrow

When the University Libraries doesn’t own a book title you want or when the copy owned by the Libraries is not available to you (checked out or missing), you may request a copy using E-Z Borrow,a resource sharing consortium which includes forty academic libraries in Pennsylvania and a few out of state libraries like Rutgers.  When the book you want is unavailable, the online catalog provides an E-Z Borrow button to the right of the item description.  You may also find a link on the home page.  Just click on Services and Tools, the second choice on the red bar.  Then select the first choice on the left, Borrow/Renew/Request.  After loggin in with your netID and password, you may search the catalog using the brief search which is provided or clicking on Advanced Search at the top of the screen.  When you identify the book you want and place a request, the item will arrive in less than a week for you to check out.  You will receive an email when the book is ready for you to check out at the Circulation Desk.  You may borrow the book for a period of six weeks with a six week renewal.