Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

Nursing Undergraduate Student Library Research Guide

Information to support undergraduate students as they become proficient users of library resources and services

Full text articles

Four ways to find full text in html or pdf

1.  The article is linked to full text from the citation record in the database.  You may see “Full text” or the Adobe Acrobat pdf symbol after the citation, abstract and subject headings.

2.  Click on   in the citation record.  You will be connected immediately to the article or to the publisher's page for the article where you can select PDF.  If the University Libraries does not subscribe to the journal, you will see a page offering you the option to perform a quick search of the library catalog which includes records of all journal holdings owned by the University Libraries.  By clicking on “Search the library catalog by Title,” you can verify that electronic access is not available.  You may also discover that print holdings are held in one or more of the Rutgers libraries.  This may influence your decision to check the shelf or request an electronic copy of the article.

3.  Search the library catalog directly to find information about all journal holdings including their extent and their format.

  • In the center of the page, you'll see a gray search box where Articles is the default.  Use the "Journals" tab, third from the left, to find the journals owned by the University Libraries.  Enter the title you want to know more about.  The journal title is often labeled “Source” in article citations.
  • Look at the journal record.  Following the bibliographic description, you may see the identifier: “Electronic Access.”  The coverage dates will be included in the link so you’ll know in advance whether your article will be included.  When you open the link, you will see a list of volumes, issues and dates or you may see the publisher's page for the journal.  If this is the case, look for "Past Issues" or "Archive."  Then you're all set to use the volume and issue numbers or the date of the article to connect to fulltext.

4.  Consult the listing of Electronic Journals and Publications.  The website includes a search box as well as a subject list of the University Libraries’ electronic journal titles. (http://atoz.ebsco.com/titles.asp?id=1729&sid=64136061&TabID=2)