Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Nursing Undergraduate Student Library Research Guide: Websites for nursing

Information to support undergraduate students as they become proficient users of library resources and services

Organizations, government sites, and metasites

These sites usually include information on clinical practice, continuing education and certification, publications, the public policy supported by the organization, conferences, job listings and career planning.

1. Organizations

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN)

American Nurses Association (ANA)

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)

International Council of Nurses (ICN)

National League for Nursing (NLN)

National Student Nurses Association (NSNA)

Sigma Theta Tau International, Honor Society of Nursing

2. Government Sites

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
Links to CDC publications and data, including many statistical publications.

healthfinder
A portal to government sites and resources for reliable health information.

Healthy People 2010
National health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats. Site includes implementation programs and statistical data. *NEW*

National Library of Medicine (NLM)
NLM services, databases, images, and publications. Includes MedlinePlus, an excellent resource for carefully reviewed unbiased patient education material.

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
An Institute of the NIH, supporting "clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the life span."

National Institutes of Health (NIH)
NIH news, information, and grant resources.

New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services
Website includes a section for health professionals, consumer health information and statistical data. 

3. Metasites

Metasites collect large numbers of Web pages that provide broad coverage of a subject. The Web pages are authored by librarians, college of nursing faculty and staff, as well as associations and corporations in the information industry. Metasites provide information for a wide audience, in this case, many groups within the nursing community.

Metasites usually use a subject listing as the access point to the Web pages. A more specific subject list may follow before the alphabetical list of Web pages is displayed. Brief annotations on a Web page's content and application have been supplied by the metasite compiler.

Hardin MD: Nursing and Nursing Research (Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa)
This list includes many international sites. The metasites are categorized by the number of Web pages, i.e. large, medium, and small.

Martindale's: The Virtual Nursing Center
Comprehensive and detailed list of links arranged by category. Author has been compiling site since 1994. Includes many helpful sites to support coursework.

Nursingcenter.com
Lippincott Publishing Company. Article abstracts from the Lippincott nursing journals, career information, discussion groups, shopping opportunities (!), and more. (PLEASE NOTE: Lippincott charges for access to full-text/PDF articles. It is most likely that you already have access to the Lippincott journal through the University Libraries. Search IRIS by the journal title and select "Periodical Title begins with" from the pull-down menu.) 

Nursing on the Net: Health Resources You Can Use
Developed by librarians who work as training coordinators for the National Network of Medical Libraries under the auspices of the National Library of Medicine. Comprehensive and current list arrange by broad subject category.

Life Sciences Librarian

Ann Vreeland Watkins's picture
Ann Vreeland Watkins
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library
185 University Ave
Newark, NJ 07102-1814
ann.watkins@rutgers.edu
(973) 353-3809

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.