Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Jewish Studies: Selected Internet Resources

Selected Internet Resources

American Jewish Historical Society.
Basic information about American Jewish historical and genealogical research; a bibliography of suggested reading; information on Society publications; and links and listings for other American Jewish historical societies and academic programs.

A Garment Worker's Legacy: The Joe Fishstein Collection of Yiddish Poetry (McGill University)
An online exhibit with browsable catalog for 2300 titles. The collector was born in Kalarash, Bessarabia and lived most of his life in the Bronx.

Historic Hebrew Newspapers.
Provides free access to page images of a growing number of early Hebrew language newspapers, starting with three from 1856 to 1911, indexed by date and issue, with partial author and subject indexing as well.

Internet Jewish History Sourcebook. (Fordham University)
A collection of links to online texts providing information on the people of Israel, the emergence of Judaism, the Jewish Middle Ages, and Jewish Life since the Enlightenment] A collection of links to online texts providing information on the people of Israel, the emergence of Judaism, the Jewish Middle Ages, and Jewish Life since the Enlightenment.

Jewish Communities of the World.
World map to communities, linked to information about local leaders, compiled by the World Jewish Congress

Jewish Language Research Website.
Lists of scholars, descriptions of "over a dozen Jewish languages," bibliography, computing guide, lists.

Jewish Womens Archive.
Archival documents and photographs on the lives of notable Jewish women are currently available. A database of material on Jewish women in archives across the country is being developed.

Jewish Virtual Library.
Formerly named JSOURCE, includes a "Library" with many scholarly texts and documents and a realistic "Virtual Israel Experience".

National Yiddish Book Center.
Founded by Aaron Lansky in 1980 and dedicated to the preservation of Yiddish. The Stephen Spielberg Yiddish Library seeks to digitize, and make available for purchase through a database mounted here, 1.5 million Yiddish books.

Yiddish Prints: Jiddische Drucke.
Online collection of 800 Yiddish books at the City and University Library in Frankfurt am Main.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.