Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Jewish Studies: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

Content

The works listed on this page are excellent starting points for research in the area of Jewish Studies, and can be used to find background information, definitions of terms or concepts, biographical information, maps, and citations to additional resources. Most books can be found in the Reference section (REF) of the holding library, except as indicated.

Handbooks and Companions

American Jewish Desk Reference.
American Jewish Historical Society, 1999. 
ALEXANDER REF E184.35.A44

American Jewish Year Book.
1900-.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA STACKS E184.J5. Latest Edition REF.

Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture from the 18th Century to the Present.
1989.
ALEXANDER, DANA REF DS102.8.B46

Handbook of American-Jewish Literature: An Analytical Guide to Topics, Themes, and Sources.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS, CARR STACKS; DANA REF PS153.J4H365

The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies.
OUP, 2002.
ALEXANDER REF BM70.O95 2002

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Algemayne entsiklopedye [in Yiddish]
12 v., Dubnov-Fond, 1934-1966
ALEXANDER STACKS AE90.Y5A5, v1-12

Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict : Culture, History and Politics
Thomson Gale, 2005. 2v.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF JQ1830.A58F3813 2005

Encyclopaedia Judaica: Das Judentum in Geschichte und Gegenwart.
10v, [1928-1934].
ALEXANDER REF DS102.8.E5

Encyclopaedia Judaica.
2nd ed. 22v., 2007.
ALEXANDER REF
Online Access

Encyclopaedia Judaica. 16v., 1972. 
CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF and ALEXANDER FOLIO DS102.8.E496
CD-ROM Version. 1997.
ALEXANDER STACKS-COM DS102.8.E496

Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust.
3 v. NYU, 2001.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF DS135.E8E45 2001

Encyclopedia of Judaism.
3 v. Neusner et al., eds. Continuum, 1999.
ALEXANDER REF BM50.E63 1999

Encyclopedia of the Palestine Problem. 2v., 1991.
ALEXANDER, DANA (v.2 only), CARR REF DS119.7.N2928

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust.
4v., Macmillan, 1990.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF D804.3.E53 1990

English-Yiddish Encyclopedic Dictionary; a Complete Lexicon and Work of Reference in All Departments of Knowledge.
Jewish Press, 1915.
ALEXANDER REF PJ5117.A2

Entsiklopedyah kelalit / hugah ve-hutkan li-defus 'a. y. Yosef �Klozner. [in Hebrew]
6 v., Association Simon Dubnow, 1935-1937
ANNEX AE30.E51, v1-6

Ha-Entsiklopedyah ha-'ivrit : Kelalit, Yehudit ve-Eretz Yisraelit [in Hebrew]
33 v., Dubnov-Fond, 1949-1985
ANNEX AE30.E5, v1-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13 [Complete sets may be found in the libraries at Princeton, Columbia, and elsewhere]

Harduf's Transliterated English-Hebrew Dictionary.
10 v. Harduf Books, 1994-.
ALEXANDER REF

The Jewish Encyclopedia....
12v., Funk & Wagnalls, 1901-06..
ALEXANDER STACKS; DANA, DOUGLASS REF DS102.8.J65

Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Historical Encyclopedia
Shalvi Pub., c2006
DOUGLASS REF HQ1772.J495 2006 [CD-ROM] and freely available online.

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia.
Routledge, 1997. 2v.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF.2.J49

Judaism 101
An online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices, and customs.

Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia. 2002.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF DS124.M386 2002

Metzler Lexikon der deutsch-jüdischen Literatur : jüdische Autorinnen und Autoren deutscher Sprache von der Aufklärung bis zur Gegenwart / herausgegeben von Andreas B. Kilcher.
Stuttgart : Metzler, 2000.
ALEXANDER REF PT169.M48 2000

New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia.
7th ed. Facts on File, 1992.
ALEXANDER REF DS102.8.S73

Oxford Dictionary of  the Jewish Religion. 1997.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF BM50.O94

Oxford English-Hebrew Dictionary. 1996.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF PJ4833.J4J48

Reader's Guide to Judaism.
Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
ALEXANDER REF, STACKS BM50.R43 2000

Yale Companion to Jewish Writing and Thought in German culture, 1096-1996.
Yale, 1997.
ALEXANDER REF and STACKS, CAMDEN REF DS135.G3Y35 1997

Yidishe folks-entsiklopedye; far yidishe religye, geshikhte, filozofye, literatur, biografye, lender-kibutsim un andere inyonim [in Yiddish]
2 v., Drukerey fun "Keneder Odler," 1943
ALEXANDER STACKS AG90.Y4P45 1943, v.1-2

The YIVO encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe / Gershon David Hundert, editor in chief
2 v., Yale University Press, c2008
ALEXANDER REF DS135.E8Y578 2008

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.