Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Jewish Studies: Primary Source Collections

Microform Sets in Alexander Library

Microform Sets in the Alexander Library

I. Sets Pertaining Primarily to the Jews.

Dead Sea Scrolls on Microfiche: A Comprehensive Facsimile Edition of the Texts from the Judean Desert.
134 microfiche
ALEXANDER M-FICH 441 : behind Periodicals Desk
Guide : ALEXANDER REF BM487.A05 1993 v.1-3
Photographic negatives of original texts and fragments taken between 1950 and 1967 on behalf of the Palestine Archaeological Museum, and photographs taken from 1967 to the present on behalf of the Israel Antiquities Authority. Photos from the archives of the Shrine of the Book, and recent photographs of texts and fragments from the Ancient Biblical Manuscript Center.

Immigrant in America: The Jews.
23 reels
ALEXANDER M-FILM 2849
Guide: Immigrant in America: Guide to the Microfilm Collection, Unit 7 ALEX REF JV6451.I46 1983 guide, unit 7
A collection of 309 books and pamphlets in English and Yiddish from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries

Great Britain. Public Record Office. Middle East: a documentary resource.
31 reels (Series 1. Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-70)
Alexander DOCMFILM 6002 (Cabinet 11-1A)
Guide: ALEXANDER REF DS 119.7. .G7 2002
Selected important British records pertaining to World War I, the Balfour Declaration, the Mandate period, and independence. Excellent material for twentieth century Israeli history.

Palestine Statehood Committee Papers, 1939-1949
ALEXANDER M-Film 2843, Reels 1-19
Guide: ALEXANDER REF DS126.3.P35 2000
These are records of varied provenance pertaining to five committees associated with Peter H. Bergson (Hillel Kook) that were active during this period in the US and rivaled both the American Zionist leadership and the Jewish Agency in Palestine.



II. Papers and Images of the Middle East


Sources for the History of the British in the Middle East 1800-1978
ALEXANDER M/fiche 222, 22 fiche
Guide: Guide kept in Microforms room.
Description: "A catalogue of the Private papers Collection in the Middle East Centre, St. Anthony's College, Oxford." (Publisher's Catalog) The microfiche reproduces the card index to the Private Papers Collection.

Image of the East: Nineteenth Century Near Eastern Photographs by Bonfils from the collections of the Harvard Semitic Museum [Chicago visual library text-fiche]
ALEXANDER M-FICH 255, 10 sheets (located within the guide)
Guide: Image of the east. (available in the Microforms room)
Description: A collection of photographs of Lebanon, Egypt, Palestine, Syria, and other Middle Eastern states in the 19th century, photographed primarily by the brothers Felix and Adrian Bonfils.



III. State Department Correspondence about Countries with Large Jewish Populations


U.S. State Department. Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1942-1944: internal affairs.
ALEXANDER DOC M-FILM Cabinet 24A, 35 reels
Guide: ALEXANDER REF DD256.C66 1985; ALEXANDER DOC REF DD256.C66 1985

U.S. State Department. Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1940-1944: foreign affairs
ALEXANDER DOC M-FILM Cabinet 24B, 5 reels
Guide: ALEXANDER REF DD256.C664 1985; ALEXANDER DOC REF DD256.C664 1985

U.S. State Department. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Germany, 1910-1929. (National Archives microcopy no. M336)
ALEXANDER DOC M-FILM Cabinet 4B-E, 182 reels
Guide: Catalog of National Archives microfilm. ALEXANDER DOC REF US GS4.17/2:1974-82

U.S. State Department. Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records: Russia and the Soviet Union / edited by Paul Kesaris
ALEXANDER DOC M-FILM Cabinet 24G-I & 25A-C,145 reels
Guide: ALEXANDER REF JX233.S65C65 1982; ALEXANDER DOC REF JX233.S65C65 1982
Description: Part I. Russia: from czar to commissars, 1914-1918; Part II, Section A. The Soviet Union, 1919-1924; Part II, Section B. The Soviet Union, 1925-1933; Part III. The Soviet Union, 1934-1941.

U.S. State Department. Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-1929.
(National Archives microcopy no. M316)
ALEXANDER DOC M-FILM Cabinet 3E-H, 176 reels
Guide: Pamphlets to accompany microcopy numbers 1-845. ALEXANDER DOC REF US GS4.20.



IV. Selected Sets about American Society with Some Jewish Pertinence


Barnett, Claude A. The Claude A. Barnett papers: The Associated Negro Press, 1918-1967 (Part three: Subject Files on Black Americans)
M/film #2564 Cabinet 111, Pt. 3, reels 58-62, 80-88(Religion and Philanthropy sections)
Guide: REF PN4841.A73M44 1984
Description: Princeton has Pts. 1, 2, and the Agriculture, Colleges, Economic Conditions, and Entertainers, Artists, and Authors sections of Pt. 3. The sections ALEXANDER owns include correspondence, news clippings, and other items dealing with the National Council of Negro Women, the National Association of Colored Women(1938-1964)& Black Jews, Black Muslims, and many other religious denominations.

United States Military Intelligence Reports: surveillance of radicals in the United States 1917-1941.
ALEXANDER M/film 2432, 32 reels
Guide: United States Military Intelligence Reports: Surveillance of Radicals in the United States: 1917-1941. MICRO REF HN90.R3U78 1984
Description: Includes copious records on the IWW + files on the Amer. Communist movement, Communist Labor Party, Socialist Party, Farmer-Labor Cong., Non-partisan League, Eugene Debs,Victor Berger, John Reed, Louis Frania & Roger Baldwin, etc. from the Army's G-2 unit

Emma Goldman Papers
DOUGLASS Library M-FILM,: 69 reels
Guide: Emma Goldman: a Guide to her Life and Documentary Sources Dglss Ref HX843.7.G65E55 1995
Description: Correspondence, writings, and government documents related to the life of Emma Goldman (1869-1940).

Records of Jewish Community Centers and Synagogues in Special Collections

Special Collections in the basement of Alexander Library has many collections of organizational records for Jewish congregations and community centers that document the life of Jewish communities for much of the twentieth century. The records are predominantly minutes, accounts, and membership lists. Some collections also contain newsletters and correspondence, and the largest collections have their own finding aids.

The following partial listing is organized by the entry numbers in Guide to Original and Copied Records of Religious Organizations, Largely New Jersey Churches, in the Special Collections and University Archives of Rutgers University, by Donald Arleigh Sinclair (New Brunswick: Genealogical Society of New Jersey, 1999). More detailed descriptions of the collections can be found in this guide, of which there are copies in both Special Collections and Alexander Reference at Z7757.N5G85 1999.


  • 2) Ahavath Achim Congregation, Vineland, N.J.-
Account books, 1946-1954. 2v.
  • 53) Chelsea Hebrew Congregation, Atlantic City, N.J. Sisterhood.-
Records, 1957(1967)-1981. 1 box.
  • 66) Congregation Adas Israel, Passaic, N.J.-
Records, 1939-1986. 1 carton, 1 oversize item.
  • 67) Congregation Adath Israel, Woodbridge, N.J.-
Records, 1931-1990. 4 boxes.
  • 68) Congregation Ahavath Achim B'nal Israel, Irvington, N.J.-
Records, 1920-1986. 8 boxes.
  • 69) Congregation Beth Israel, Atlantic City, N.J.-
Minutes of the congregation and board of trustees, 1891-1941. 342 p.
(This congregation removed to Northfield, N.J. in the 1980s.)
  • 70) Congregation Beth Jacob, Union City, N.J.-
Records, 1911-1984. 9 boxes,1 folder.
  • 71) Congregation Beth Sholom, Iselin, N.J.-
Records, 1955-7980. 5 containers.
Merged into Congregation Adath Israel (Woodbridge) in 1980.
  • 73) Congregation B'nai Jacob, Passaic, N.J.-
Records, 1908-1979. 4 boxes.
  • 74) Congregation B'nai Jeshurun, Newark, N.J.-
Minutes, 1848-1858 (226p.) and typescript of translation, 1848-1871 (142 leaves).
The congregation moved in 1968 to Short Hills, N.J.
  • 75) Congregation B'nai Jeshurun, Paterson, N.J.-
Accounts, 1876-1895. 120p.
  • 76) Congregation Knesseth Israel, Bound Brook, N.J.-
Records, 1921-1987. 1 carton, 7 boxes
  • 77) Congregation Poile Zedek, New Brunswick, N.J.-
Records, 1917-1968. 4v., 7 boxes.
  • 78) Congregation Rodef Sholom, Atlantic City, N.J.-
Records, 1899-1973. 1 box.
  • 79) Congregation Shaareh Tikvah, Vineland, N.J.-
Minutes of the annual meetings, and other records, 1956-1990. 1 folder.
  • 80) Congregation Sharri Sholom, Deans, N.J.-
Records, 1955-1979. 3 boxes.
Finding Aid
  • 81) Congregation Sons of Israel, Clayton, N.J.-
Minutes of congregation, executive committee, etc., 1961-1967; minutes of Sisterhood, 1962-1967. 5 folders.
  • 118) Farmingdale Jewish Community Center, West Farms, N.J.-
Records, 1940-1988. 4 boxes.
  • 166) Har Sinai Temple, Trenton, N.J.-
Papers of Sidney Goldman, trustee, etc., 1951-1983. 15 folders.
  • 188) Jewish Community Center of Oakland, N.J.-
Records, 1958-(1979)1986. 7 boxes.
Sponsored by the Jewish Pioneer Club of Oakland.
  • 189) Jewish Educational Center, Elizabeth, N.J.-
Records, 1935-1971. 2 boxes.
  • 392a) Temple Beth-el, Cranford, N.J.-
Minutes of the board of trustees, 1985-1991. 1 folder.
  • 393) Temple Beth El, Rutherford, N.J.-
Records, 1920-1985. 4v., 10 boxes.
Removed to East Rutherford, renamed Jewish Center of South Bergen by 1950; adopted present name in 1951. Moved to Rutherford.
Finding Aid
  • 394) Temple Emanuel, Bayonne, N.J.-
Minutes and other records of the congregation and trustees, 1911-1947 (abt 768p.); of the building committee, 1913 (13p.)
  • 395) Temple Emauel of the Pascack Valley, Westwood, N.J.-
Minutes (photocopy), 1936-1945. 133 leaves.
Moved in 1981 to Woodcliff Lake.
  • 396) Temple Israel-Emanuel, Union City, N.J.-
Records, 1904-1983. 5 cartons.
  • 397) Temple Neve Shalom, Methuchen, N.J.-
Records, 1949-1985.
  • 447) Young Israel of Metropolitan New Jersey, West Caldwell, N.J.-
Records, 1926-1980. 14 cartons, 1 box.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.