Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Jewish Studies: Indexes and Journals

Electronic Journals

Rutgers Restricted Access

The following Electronic Journals are currently subscribed to by Rutgers University Libraries, and can be accessed only by Rutgers University students, faculty, and staff, or from an onsite computer terminal. The number of journals available online is growing rapidly, especially within the EBSCO Academic Search Premier and the PAO databases. Additional holdings can be determined in the Library Catalog, by limiting a keyword, title, periodical title, or subject searches to the library RU-ONLINE, or by browsing the Electronic Journal Lists. To connect to full-text articles with citations in PAO, click the link on the right-bottom of the PCI page, type in the periodical title in the search bar and select Journal Title from the drop down menu.

AJS Review.

Online: Proquest: 2002—

Online: JSTOR: 1976-2005

 

American Jewish History.

The official publication of the American Jewish Historical Society. Focuses on every aspect of the American Jewish experience.
Online: Literature Online: 2002—

Online: Project MUSE: 1996—

Online: PAO: 1893-1995.

 

American Journal of Semitic Languages and Literatures.

Online: JSTOR: 1895-1941.

Online: BAS Online: 1895-1941.

 

Archaeology Odyssey.

Online: BAS Online: 1998--

 

Bible Review.

Online: BAS Online: 1985--

 

Biblical Archaeology Review.

Online: BAS Online: 1975--

 

Commentary.

Online: EBSCO: 1994—

Online: PAO: 1938--

 

Journal of significant thought and opinion on contemporary Jewish issues.

Online: EBSCO: 1990—

Online: PAO: 1945.

 

Estudios sefardies.

Online: PAO: 1978-79.

 

Hebraica.

Online: JSTOR: 1884-1895.

 

Holocaust and Genocide Studies.

Online: Project Muse: 2003—

Online: Oxford University Press: 1996--

Online: HeinOnLine:1986-2001.

 

Israel Studies.

Multidisciplinary scholarship on Israeli history, politics, society, and culture.

Online: EBSCO: 1996—

Online: Project Muse: 1999--

Online:ProQuest: 1996--

 

Jewish Bible Quarterly.

Online: EBSCO: 1995--

 

Jewish History.

Online: EBSCO: 2000—

Online: Springerlink: 1997--

 

Jewish Quarterly Review.

Online: EBSCO: 2004--

Online: JSTOR: 1888-2006.

Online: Project Muse: 2002--

 

Jewish Social Studies.

Explores different approaches to Jewish history and critical inquiry into its concepts and theoretical stances.

Online: EBSCO: 1975--

Online: PAO: 1939-2000.

Online: Project Muse: 1999--

 

Journal for the Study of Judaism in the Persian, Hellenistic and Roman Period.

Online: PAO: 1970-2000.

Online: EBSCO: 1998--

 

Journal of Jewish Communal Service.

Online: EBSCO: 2000--

 

Journal of Near Eastern Studies.

Online: JSTOR: 1942-2002.

 

Journal of Palestine Studies.

Online: JSTOR: 1971-2001.

Online: ProQuest: 2002--

 

The Journal of Jewish Thought & Philosophy.

Online: EBSCO: 1997-2003.

 

Journal of Modern Jewish Studies.

Online: EBSCO: 2002--

 

Journal of Semitic Studies.

Online:Oxford University Press: 1996--

 

Judaism.

A quarterly journal of Jewish life and thought.

Online: EBSCO: 1975-2006.

 

Medieval Encounters: Jewish, Christian, and Muslim Culture in Confluence and Dialogue.

Online: EBSCO: 1999--

 

Modern Judaism.

An interdisciplinary forum for the discussion of the modern Jewish experience since the Haskalah, the Jewish Enlightenment.

Online: JSTOR: 1981-1998.

Online: Project Muse: 1996--

 

Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies and Gender Issues.

Online: Project Muse: 2003—

Online: EBSCO: 2004--

 

Prooftexts.

Covers the study of Jewish literature, in its many guises and periods.

Online: Project Muse: 2000-

Sefarad.

Online: PAO: 1941-2000.

Tikkun.

A bi-monthly Jewish critique of politics, culture, and society.

Online: EBSCO: 2000--

Online: Factiva: 2005-2010.

Online: Gale Group: 1993--

In addition, there are 18 Jewish newspapers in the Ethnic Newswatch database.

 

Indexes

The following is a list of print and electronic indexes that can be used to locate articles in Jewish Studies. With the exception of the free index RAMBI, indexes are available online only to current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff, or to everyone within Rutgers University Libraries buildings. To determine whether a particular article is held by one of the Rutgers Libraries, go to the Library Catalog and search for the title of the source publication (book or journal title.) For full-text indexes, as indicated below, the full article may be available electronically. Other relevant indexes can be accessed on the Indexes and Databases page.

An interdisciplinary, full-text database of 4,700 scholarly publications as well as abstracts and indexing for over 8,100 scholarly journals with some dating back to 1984. A valuable and large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals for nearly all academic areas of study.

Provides over 400,000 citations and abstracts for articles and book reviews on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present published since 1964.

Indexes more than 2000 journals and also dissertations on the history of the world outside North America, from 1450 to the present, that  have been published since 1955.

  • Index to Articles relative to Jewish History and Literature Published in Periodicals, from 1665 to 1900

Primarily an author index, but with a shorter subject index.Index to Articles relative to Jewish History and Literature Published in Periodicals, from 1665 to 1900. ALEXANDER STACKS, DOUGLASS REF Z6366.S413

  • Index to Jewish Periodicals. 

Indexes Anglo-American Jewish periodicals, popular and scholarly. 1963-Index to Jewish Periodicals ALEXANDER REF Z6367.I5

A selective bibliography of publications in the various fields of Jewish Studies and in the study of Eretz Israel, from 1966 to the present. Unicode Web interface displays Hebrew characters.

Contains over one million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 26 languages. It includes article citations from 650 journals, essay citations from 14,000 multi-author works, and book review citations. Covers publications from 1949 to the present.

Free Electronic Journals

Access to the following electronic journals is free and unrestricted.

Compact Memory: Internetarchiv jüdischer Periodika.
Frankfurt University Library: collection of digitized German language serials, currently ca. over 300 titles.

Historic Jewish Press.
Israeli National Library: over 300 Jewish periodicals beginning in 1783, half of them in Yiddish or Hebrew.

American Jewish Archives.
Online: 2000--.

Jewish Studies, an Internet Journal.
Online: 2002--

Journal of Hebrew Scriptures.
Online: 1996--.

Min-Ad: Israel Studies in Musicology Online

Online: 1999--

Women in Judaism: A Multidisciplinary Journal.
Online: 1996--.

Snunit
(Online Journals in Hebrew)
Links to fourteen freely available online journals; requires Hebrew fonts!

(See Home tab, Cool Hebrew Keyboard)

Studies in Christian-Jewish Relations

The electronic journal of the Council of Centers on Jewish-Christian relations.

Online: 2005--

Journals in Print

 

The libraries also hold many volumes of the print edition of the journals listed above and selected volumes of other non-current print journals. In some cases we even have current subscriptions to the print edition, although if online access is stable and reliable we seek to cancel redundant print subscription; see the Library Catalog for holdings. A shrinking number of scholarly and opinion journals in the field are available only in print format. A list of the most important ones held in Alexander Library Current Periodicals follows.

 

  • Azure: Ideas for the Jewish Nation
  • Commentary
  • Israel Studies Forum
  • Jewish Journal of Sociology
  • Jewish Quarterly Review
  • Journal of Jewish Communal Service
  • Judaism
  • Midstream
  • Nashim
  • Studies in American Jewish Literature

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.