Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Jewish Studies: Other Reference Works

Bibliographies and Catalogs

Bibliography of Jewish Bibliographies. Shunami, Shlomo.
1969.
ALEXANDER REF Z7070.A1S5`

Bibliography on Holocaust Literature.
1986.
ALEXANDER STACKS Z6374.H6E33; CAMDEN, DANA, DOUGLASS REF D804.3.E33

Dictionary Catalog of the Jewish Collection.
New York Public Library, 1960, 1975. 22v.
Now largely superceded by the online catalog of the NYPL, but perhaps not for works in non-Roman scripts and older publications. Use the online catalog before visiting the NYPL to determine if material must be ordered to the reading room from remote storage.
ALEXANDER REF Z6375.N6

Guide to the Holdings of American Jewish Archives. James W. Clasper and M. Carolyn Dellenbach.
1979.
For more information on manuscript collections in the US, see Other Library Catalogs and especially ArchiveGrid.
ALEXANDER REF Z6373.U5H43 1979

Judaica Americana: A Bibliography of Publications to 1900. by Robert Singerman.
1990. 2v.
ALEXANDER REF Z6373.D5S58

The Lawrence Marwick Collection of Copyrighted Yiddish Plays: An Annotated Bibliography. By Zachary M. Baker.
2004.
An Adobe PDF file.
A 233 p. online publication of the Library of Congress describing this unique manuscript collection.

ULI - The Israel Union Catalog
Often known by its telnet version, Aleph, this database identifies the collective holdings of Israeli libraries. For libraries in the US, see Other Library Catalogs.

Hebrew Scripture

The Dead Sea Scrolls. Discoveries in the Judaean Desert.
ALEXANDER FOLIO BM487.B3 1955a v.1-26.

The Dead Sea scrolls on microfiche [microform] : a comprehensive facsimile edition of the texts from the Judean Desert.
With inventory list and two companion volumes.
ALEXANDER M-FICH 441, 134 fiches +
ALEXANDER REF BM487.A05 1993 v.1-3

The Talmud : the Steinsaltz edition.
ALEXANDER FOLIO BM499.5.E4 1989 v.1-21

Biographical Sources

American Jewish Biographies.
Facts on File, 1982.
ALEXANDER REF E184.J5A38

Dictionary of Jewish Biography.
by Geoffrey Wigoder, 1991.
ALEXANDER, DOUGLASS REF DS115.W49.

Jewish American Women Writers : A Bio-bibliographical and Critical Sourcebook.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF PS153.J4J48 1994

Who's Who in Jewish History, After the Period of the Old Testament.
1974.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF DS115.C6

Atlases

Atlas of Medieval Jewish History.
1992.
ALEXANDER REF G1034.B413.

Atlas of Modern Jewish History.
Oxford U. Press, 1990.
ALEXANDER FOLIO; CAMDEN, DOUGLASS REF G1030.F6513

Historical Atlas of the Jewish People: From the Time of the Patriarchs to the Present.
1992.
ALEXANDER, CAMDEN REF DS117.J8513

Historical Atlas of the Holocaust.
United States Holocaust Museum, 1996.
ALEXANDER STACKS; CAMDEN REF G1797.21.E29H5

The Illustrated Atlas of Jewish Civilization: 4,000 Years of Jewish History.
1990.
DANA, DOUGLASS REF G1030.G48

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.