Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Global & Eurasian History: Periods

Supports research in Global, Comparative, European, & Asian History

Renaissance

Encyclopedia of the scientific revolution : from Copernicus to Newton / Wilbur Applebaum . Alexander Stacks and Robeson Reference Q125.E53 2000

Europe 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world 6 v. Robeson Reference D209.E97 2004 and Gale eBooks.  

Renaissance and Reformation, 1500-1620 : a biographical dictionary. Library Annex and Robeson Reference CT759.R46 2001 

The Facts on File dictionary of European history, 1485-1789 / E. N. Williams. Alexander Reference D205.W54

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation / Hans J. Hillerbrand 4 v.  Alexander, Robeson and Dana Reference BR302.8.O93 1996 

The scientific revolution : an encyclopediaWilliam E. Burns. Alexander Reference Q127.E8B87 2001

Uppity women of the Renaissance / Vicki León. Douglass Reference HQ1148.L46 1999

  

Enlightenment

 

Absolutism and the scientific revolution, 1600-1720 : a biographical dictionary. Library Annex D205.A27 2002

Nineteenth Century

A companion to nineteenth-century Europe, 1789-1914 / edited by Stefan Berger.  Alexander Stacks D299.C623 2006 and ebook

Encyclopedia  of 1848 Revolutions

Industrialization and imperialism, 1800-1914 : a biographical dictionary / edited by Jeffrey A. Bell. Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 2002.  Alexander Stacks D356.I54 2002

The Longman Companion to European Nationalism 1789-1920. Library Annex D359.7.P43 1993

The Longman handbook of modern European history, 1763-1997 / Chris Cook and John Stevenson. Alexander Reference D299.C627 1997

The Penguin atlas of recent history, Europe since 1815 / Colin McEvedy Library Annex G1035.M42 

 A select list of books on European history, 1815-1914. Edited by Alan Bullock and A. J. P. Taylor. Alexander Reference Z2000.B8 1957 

Twentieth Century

A dictionary of European history and politics, 1945-1995 / Derek W. Urwin. Alexander Reference D1051.U79 1996  

Europe since 1945 : an encyclopedia. Editor, Bernard A. Cook. Carr Reference D1051.E87 2001 

Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the age of war and reconstruction. Available through Gale eBooks.

The Columbia dictionary of European political history since 1914 / John Stevenson, general editor. Dana Reference and Robeson Stacks D424.C65 1992

Longman handbook of twentieth century Europe / Chris Cook & John Stevenson. Alexander Stacks D424.C664 2003 and Proquest Ebook Central

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.