Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Global & Eurasian History: Regions

Supports research in Global, Comparative, European, & Asian History

Eastern Europe

Bibliographic guide to Soviet and East European studies. Library Annex Z7041.N4821

Eastern Europe : an introduction to the people, lands, and culture / Richard Frucht.  Available through ABC-CLIO.

Eastern Europe bibliography / Rebecca Gates-Coon. Alexander Stacks Z2483.G33 1993

Atlas of Eastern Europe in the twentieth century / Richard and Ben Crampton.  Alexander Reference G2080.C7 1996 

Dictionary of East European history since 1945 / Joseph Held.  Alexander Stacks, Robeson Reference DJK50.H43 1994

Historical atlas of Central Europe / Paul Robert Magocsi. Alexander, Robeson, and Dana Reference DR36.S88 v.1 2002  

France

Dictionnaire biographique français contemporain. Dana Reference and Stacks DC406.D5

Dictionnaire de biographie française sous la direction de J. Balteau et al. Library Annex DC 36.D5 V18, Dana Reference CT143.D5

France : a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present / William J. Roberts. Alexander Reference DC35.R64 2004

A selected bibliography on modern French history, 1600 to the present. Alexander Stacks Z2176.B68 

Germany

Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie. 56v. Available through HathiTrust.

Archives in Germany : an introductory guide to institutions and sources / edited by Frank Schumacher. Library Annex, Dana Reference CD1220.A73 2001

Deutsches biographisches Archiv: eine Kumulation aus 254 der wichtigsten biographischen Nachschlagewerke für den deutschen Bereich bis zum Ausgang des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts. 1447 microfiches. Alexander Microfiche 623

Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990 / editors, Dieter K. Buse, Juergen C. Doerr  2v. Alexander, Robeson Reference DD14.M64 1998, Alexander Stacks XX1332940.1

Neue Deutsche Biographie. 22v. Alexander Reference DD85.N4  

Italy

Bibliografia storica nazionale. Alexander Reference Z2356.B53

Guida generale degli archivi di Stato italiani 4v. / direttori, Piero D'Angiolini, Claudio Pavone. Alexander Reference CD1424.G84 1981

Indice biografico Italiano. Alexander Reference CT1123.I53 1993

Italy : a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present / Roland Sarti. Alexander Reference DG461.S27 2004

Modern Italian history : an annotated bibliography /Frank J. Coppa and William Roberts. Alexander Stacks Z2358.C67 1990, Robeson Stacks DG545.C67 1990

Vatican Archives : an inventory and guide to historical documents of the Holy See / Francis X. Blouin, Jr., general editor. Library Stacks CD1586 1998

Russia

Archives of Russia : a directory and bibliographic guide to holdings in Moscow and St. Petersburg.  2v./ edited by Patricia Kennedy Grimsted. Library Annex CD1710.A76 2000

Encyclopedia of Russian History. 4 v. / James R. Millar. Robeson Reference DK14.E53 2004, or Gale eBooks 

Encyclopedia of Russian history: From the Christianization of the Kiev to the breakup of the USSR. Alexander Stacks DK36.P39 1993  

Historical Dictionary of Russia / Boris Raymond, Paul Duffy. Alexander Reference DK36.R39 1998 

Modern Encyclopedia of Russia and Soviet History. Alexander and Dana Reference DK14.M6 v.1-60, Camden Law Library DK36.M55 1976 GINSB

Western Europe

Political leaders of contemporary western Europe: A biographical  dictionary. Alexander Reference D839.5.P62 1995

Western Europe since 1945 : a bibliography / Joan F. Higbee. Alexander Reference Z2000.H52 1996

Women in western European history : a select chronological, geographical, and topical bibliography / compiled and edited by Linda Frey, Marsha Frey, and Joanne Schneider. Library Annex, Carr Stacks, Dana and Robeson Reference HQ 1586.F73 1982

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.