Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Global & Eurasian History: Home

Supports research in Global, Comparative, European, & Asian History

QuickSearch and Other Databases

QuickSearch is the search box that appears on the library home page and elsewhere on library pages.  It subsumes our catalog and many other databases for books, newspapers, and journals.  Hence your searches can access a great variety of material, but you may want to use the filters for material type, subject, date published, etc.  Also be aware that many history indexes, like Historical Abstracts, MLA, and IMB, are not included.

The RUL website's database list compiles history databases here.

HathiTrust

HathiTrust Digital Library

Online full text of over 17 million items, both books and periodicals, of which more than 5 million are freely available and may be downloaded, while the others have full text searching with limited viewing.  60% of the public domain works are in English, 11.2% in German, 9.1% in French, and roughly one-fifth classified in call numbers D-F, history.  A tremendous resource for reading and digital manipulation of older materials, but you can use the search capability in conjunction with library access to newer materials, too.

During the pandemic, HathiTrust ETAS (Emergency Temporary Access Service) enables you to view the text of in-copyright books that are in our collection.  This service is available only as long as we refrain from circulating the print copy or providing access to the stacks.  Click on Temporary Access, then the Check Out tab to view the book in one hour increments; no download is possible.

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online

CHO contains 350+ volumes from many different series by leading historians with extensive bibliographies that help you identify the best works to search for.  The database contains the searchable fulltext of all the volumes we have purchased.  They are also linked from our catalog

Welcome!

This guide is designed to get you started with your history research at the Libraries. Get in touch if you have questions or need some additional guidance. My contact info is on the right. Email is the best way to contact me initially. I'm always happy to meet with you to discuss your research.

The Basics

Find most of our books and journals using our library catalog.  The link is to QuickSearch, but you can limit (pre- or postsearch) to books.

Rutgers University Libraries comprises over twenty libraries and centers in New Brunswick, Camden, and Newark, but the most substantial collection for history is located in the Alexander Library on the College Avenue Campus.  Here's a page with street maps and directions to all the Rutgers libraries.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.