Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Global & Eurasian History: Find Primary Sources

Supports research in Global, Comparative, European, & Asian History

Finding Source Publications in Library Catalogs

Add keyword sources or letters or diaries to any book search to find source publications.

Microform Collections

The listings for microforms in the Alexander Library include many collections that are not in in our catalog.  The viewers in the Alex Microforms Reading Room enable you to scan frames to a flash drive at no charge: build your own archive!  Here is a selected list of sets of interest for historians of continental Europe:

Maclure Collection of French Revolutionary Material

M/Film shelves 32-33.  371 reels. Guide: The Maclure Collection of French Revolutionary Materials: An annotated bibliography

Library Annex Stacks DC140.U54. A reel guide Library Annex Stacks Z2179.P4

The collection of William S. Maclure (1763-1840) of French Revolutionary materials now housed at the University of Pennsylvania. The guide also includes a survey of other libraries' collections of French Revolutionary materials.

 

Petitot, Claude Bernard, ed. Collections des memoires relatifs a l'histoire de France.

ALEXANDER M/fiche 65 Cab 6.  Also available through HathiTrust. This collection of sources on French history from the twelfth century to 1763 was published in 52 volumes in 1821-7.

 

Austrian State Archives 1848-1918. Prussian files

M/film Cabinet 89 78 reels.  No guide available

 

Archiv für österreichische Geschichte

[continues: Archiv für Kunde österreichischer Geschichts-Quellen, v1-18 ALEXANDER STACKS DB1.A31]

This collection of sources on the history of Austria and Austria-Hungary was published in 116 volumes in 1848-1944.
 

European Official Statistical Serials on Microfiche. Bishops Stratford, Eng: Chadwyk-Healey, 1975-. 7632 fiches. Our collection includes publications from the following countries: Austria; Belgium; Bulgaria; Czechoslovakia; Denmark; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Netherlands; Poland; Portugal;  Russia; Spain; Sweden; Switzerland; USSR; Yugoslavia.  Alexander DOC M-Fiche Cabinet 17 Drawers A-D 

Dutch pamphlets ca. 1486-1648 [microform] : Section I, the collection in the Royal Library, The Hague. 2037 fiches Alexander M-FICH

La Condition ouvrière] [microform] : [condition of the 19th-century French working class]. Alexander M-FICH 269

Les inventaires des Archives nationales de Paris [microform]. Alexander M-FICH

Archives

Archives Portal Europe.   Selected finding aids submitted by member institutions may be searched, a smaller number of primary materials are displayed online, and there is a map and directory with archival links and contact information.  Coverage is spotty but potentially helpful.

Selected Online Source Collections

ARTstor: Art and architecture images from all periods and regions

Bloomsbury Cultural History  [Ebooks and images surveying cultural history through the ages]

China, America and the Pacific: Trade & Cultural Exchange  [Digitized primary sources]

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 [British diplomatic correspondence]

ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online [Picks up where EEBO leaves off]

EEBO - Early English Books Online [Books 1500-1800, page images, searchable by metadata] EEBO - TCP [searchable fulltext]

Electronic Enlightenment [58,000 letters of British, American, French, German, and other Enlightenment figures]

Empire Online [Essays and primary sources on race and imperialism, 1492-2007]

Europeana: Sources Digitized by Europe's National Libraries [Books, manuscripts, and images]

European History Primary Sources [Compiled by the European University Institute]

Eurodocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe [Compiled by Brigham Young University Libraries]

The First World War [Primary sources from all sides and theaters of the war]

Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 [British diplomatic correspondence]

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange [Primary and secondary sources relating to 15 commodities, 1223-1890]

The Grand Tour [Sources documenting British travel to the European continent from the 16th through the 19th centuries]

Migration to New Worlds [Sources for migration from Europe and Asia to North American and Australasia]

Patrologia Latina [Migne's famous collection of Catholic church fathers' writings in Latin]

Patrologiae Graecae [Apostolic church fathers who wrote in Greek]

Perseus Digital Library [Primary sources on the Classical world]

Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice, 1490-2007 [Sources from archives around the world relating to the history of slavery]

Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History [Women's travel writing and correspondence]

US Declassified Documents Online [Post-1945 US federal documents released as the result of FOIA requests]

Visual History Archive (VHA) [Video transcripts of the Shoah Foundation interviews with Holocaust and other genocide survivors]

World’s Fairs: A Global History of Expositions [Sources documenting over 200 fairs and global expositions 1851-2015]

Vreme NDA [Full text of the English language news digest during the Yugoslav civil war of the 1990]

Historical European Newspapers in Alex

L’Aurore (Paris, France). Alexander Film Shelved by title OCT 1,1897-AUG 2,1914

La Croix (Paris, France).  Alexander Film Shelved by title JUN 16,1883-MAR 31,1919

La Dépêche (Paris, France)  Alexander Film Shelved by title 1890-1910

Le Figaro (Paris, France)  Alexander Film Shelved by title JAN 1890-JUN 1919

Frankfurter Zeitung und Handelsblatt (Frankfurt am Main).  ALEX FLMPER SHELVED BY TITLE JUL 24,1914-AUG 14,1920

Le Monde (Paris, France).  Alexander Film Shelved by title 1960--

Münchner neueste Nachrichten (München, Germany). ALEX FLMPER SHELVED BY TITLE AUG 2,1914-AUG 31,1919

La petite république (Paris, France). Alexander Film Shelved by title Nov1893-Dec1910

La petite république française (Paris, France). Alexander Film Shelved by title 1893

Pravda (Moscow, Soviet Union/Russia).  Alexander Film Shelved by title 1957-2004

La Repubblica (Rome, Italy). Alexander Film Shelved by title 1976-2004

Le Temps (Paris, France). Alexander Film Shelved by title 1890-1914

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.