Skip to main content

Classics: Home

Greek, Latin and the Classical World.

Finding Classical Texts in the Catalog

Finding Classical Texts in Libraries Catalog

These research tips represent some possible search strategies. When in doubt, consult a reference librarian.

Finding Individual Works of Classical Authors

Search Author in the library catalog, using the most familiar form of the name. Thus: Terence, not Terentius Afer.

Search Title in the library catalog. Use the original title where known to find editions, but translations can be found under it or a translated title. For example, Choephori or Libation bearers.

Finding Classical Texts in Specialized Series

Loeb Classical Library [texts facing translations]. Do an Advanced Search in the library catalog under this Series title. You can add another term like Author. Thus Author: Ovid and Title: Fasti.

Greek series - Call number in the ALEXANDER STACKS PA3612. Additional copies can be found in the GRADUATE READING ROOM on the 3rd floor of the Alexander Library and in the DOUGLAS STACKS under the same call number.

Latin series - Call number in the ALEXANDER STACKS PA6156 Additional copies can be found in the GRADUATE READING ROOM on the 3rd floor of the Alexander Library and in the DOUGLAS STACKS.

Oxford Classical Texts - Do an Advanced Search in the library catalog as Series under Scriptorum classicorum bibliotheca Oxoniensis. You can add another term like Author. Some Greek volumes can be found in the ALEXANDER STACKS under PA3405; some of the Latin volumes, under PA6105.

Loeb Classical Texts online.

Bibliotheca Scriptorium Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana - Do an Advanced Search in the library catalog under this Series title. You can add another term like Author. Some of the Greek texts can be found in the ALEXANDER STACKS under PA3405; some of the Latin volumes, under PA6104.(CD-ROM version in ALEXANDER STACKS - PA6118.B53 2006.

Finding Commentaries on Texts and Concordances

Do an Advanced Search in the library catalog under Author as Subject and Words Anywhere either Commentary or Concordance. For example, Author: Cicero & Words Anywhere: concordance.

Reference Sources for Classics

Reference Sources for Classics

Electronic Resources

Brill's New Pauly Online
The full-text New Pauly encyclopaedia of the ancient world.

Diogenes
Software for Classics, including a version of the Lewis and Short Latin dictionary [LSJ]. A tool for searching and browsing databases of ancient texts. Version 3 is based on Mozilla Firefox. User must install the software.  Instructions are given for Mac, Windows and LINUX.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A fully searchable online encyclopedia, featuring articles written by professional philosophers. Includes a section on Ancient Philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic encyclopedia, in which each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or a group of experts in the field.

WORDS Latin-to-English & English-to-Latin Dictionary by William Whitaker
Provides online translations from Latin to English and English to Latin.

Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft
The origin Pauly encyclopedia in German online.  Provides a list of articles from which to link.

Print Resources

Language Dictionaries

Greek-English Lexicon (Liddell and Scott).
[also available via Perseus]
ALEXANDER REF, DOUGLASS REF - PA445.E5L6 1996

A Latin Dictionary (Lewis and Short).
[also available via Perseus]
ALEXANDER REF - PA2365.E5A7 2002

Oxford Latin Dictionary
ALEXANDER REF, ART LIBRARY REF, DOUGLASS REF - PA2365.E5O9 1982

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae.
ALEXANDER REF PA2361.T413 (CD-ROM)
ALEXANDER STACKS-COM PA2361.T44 2002

The Classical World

Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt: Geschichte und Kultur Roms im Spiegel der neueren Forschung. ed. Hildegard Temporini.
Berlin, New York, De Gruyter, 1972- parts 1 and 2.
ALEXANDER STACKS - DG209.T36

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World.
ALEXANDER REF - DE5.N4813 2002

The Cambridge Ancient History.
ALEXANDER REF, CAMDEN STACKS, DANA REF, DOUGLASS REF - D57.C32 1982
Also available in Cambridge Histories Online

Der Neue Pauly : Enzyklopädie der Antike.
ALEXANDER REF - DE5.N48 1996

The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd ed.
ALEXANDER REF, CAMDEN REF - DE5.O9 2003

The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
ALEXANDER REF, MUSIC REF - DE5.O9 1998

Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Neue Bearbeitung unter Mitwirkung zahlreicher Fachgenossen, ed. Georg Wissowa (Stuttgart, Druckenmüller Verlag, 1893- [1956- ]).
ALEXANDER REF - DE5 .P33, DANA REF - DE5 .P331

The Prosopography of the Later Roman Empire.
ALEXANDER REF - DG203.5.J6

Classical Philosophy

Classics of Western Philosophy, 6th ed.
ALEXANDER REF, KILMER REF - B29.C536 2002

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy.
ALEXANDER, DOUGLASS - REF B163.E53 1996

Classical Literature

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature.
ALEXANDER REF, CAMDEN REF, DANA REF, DOUGLASS REF, KILMER REF, MUSIC REF - PA31.H69 1989

Enciclopedia Virgiliana.
ALEXANDER REF - PA6825.A3 1984

Orazio: Enciclopedia Oraziana.
ALEXANDER REF - PA6411.O72 1996

Inscriptions, Images and Objects

Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum.
ALEXANDER FOLIO - CN520.C6

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum.
ART LIBRARY FOLIO - NK4640

Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC)
ART LIBRARY REFERENCE - N7760.L4 1981

Finding Articles for Classics

Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies

The following sources can be used to access bibliographic information on books and journal articles in Classics. The sources listed here include both sources specific to classics (such as L'Année Philologique); and sources that cover a broader subject area of which classics is a part . Many references will link to full-text articles.

Electronic Indexes and Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted Access]

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
A multi-discipline, full-text database of 3,200 scholarly publications as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,170 scholarly journals with some dating back to 1984. A valuable and large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals for nearly all academic areas of study.

L'Année Philologique
Bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2007 with new records added each year. L'Annee Philologique indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles (including Festschriften), journal articles, articles in topical collections, dissertations, and book reviews.

ATLA Religion Database
Articles in all areas of religion, including Greek and Roman mythologies (e.g., Zeus).  Some full-text articles.

DYABOLA
Bibliography of classical antiquities.
Also available on CD-ROM: ART LIBRARY REF-COM - Z5931 .D93

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
Indexes critical scholarship on philosophy as related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.

The Philosopher's Index (1940-present)
The preeminent indexing and abstracting service for philosophers and students of philosophy. Provides coverage of all major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian, as well as publications from related fields. Selected books are also indexed

Internet Resources

Electronic Resources for Classicists
Useful meta site with links to texts, images and reference material.

Gnomon Online: The Eichstätt  Information System for Classical Studies
Metasite for Classical studies, including on online bibliography. Other resources include numismatics and epigraphy. Search interface in English now available and linked here. Instruction pages in English and French too.

Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online. The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992.

Print Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies

Classical studies: a guide to the reference literature
ALEXANDER REFERENCE Z7016.J4 2006

Women in Antiquity: an Annotated Bibliography.
ALEXANDER STACKS - Z7961.G66, DOUGLASS REF - HQ1127.G66 1975

Texts and Images for Classics

Greek and Latin Texts

Attalus: Sources for Greek and Roman Authors on the Web
The Attalus site contains information about written sources for Greek and Roman history between the campaigns of Alexander the Great and the early Roman Empire, covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East, including regions eventually in the Roman Empire. The time frame is from 322 to 42 B.C. E.

Greek

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (1940-present) [Rutgers Restricted Access]
A digital library of Greek literature currently including most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium. More than 3,700 authors and in excess of 12,000 full-text works are included. The database provides information about the names, dates, geographical origins, and descriptive epithets for each author, together with detailed bibliographical information about existing text editions for each work.

Patrologia Graeca [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Contains searchable texts of Greek Christian writings from the earliest texts to the Fall of Constantinople (1453).

Brill's New Jacoby Online (Rutgers Restricted Access)
Online version of Jacoby's edition of fragments of Greek hiostories and mythographies with added material published by Brill.

Latin

Forum Romanum
Provides texts, translations, articles, and other resources for the classical scholar. It includes the Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum, a digital library covering the entire body of Latin literature, from the earliest inscriptions to the Neo-Latinist writers of the eighteenth century.

LacusCurtius: A Gateway to Ancient Rome
Includes a Roman Gazetteer, Texts, Reference Works and an Atlas of the Roman world.

The Latin Library
Texts in the public domain. Includes Latin Christian, medieval and Neo-Latin texts.

Perseus Project
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world.

Patrologia Latina [PLD] [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Contains searchable texts of Latin Christian writers from the earliest texts to the thirteenth century.

Virgil.org
Includes searchable Latin texts of Virgil and translations of his works.

 

Papyri

Advanced Papyrological Information System
Includes materials from several collections in the United States and abroad. Texts in Greek, Latin and Demotic Egyptian. Database permits searches by keyword and inventory number in repository.

Duke Papyrus Archive
Texts on papyrus found in Egypt. Most are in Greek, but others are in Coptic, Demotic Egyptian or Arabic. Texts from the third century BCE to the seventh century CE are included.

Papyrology at Oxford
Includes the databases POxy: Oxyrhynchus Online and Reception of Greek Literature 300 BC - AD 800, as well as access to a database of Herculaneum Papyri.

 

Art

ARTstor [Rutgers Restricted Access]

Beazley Archive, Classical Art Research Centre, Oxford University
Provides information and images for Classical art, sculpture, gems, pottery, old photographs of classical sites, a Dictionary and bibliographies.

Index of Christian Art [Rutgers Restricted Access]
Contains images of art objects from ancient Christian sources. Searchable by subject.

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
Catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. Includes texts and plates.

Coins

Princeton Numismatics Collection
Collection includes: Firestone Greek Collection, The Firestone Roman Collection, and Coins of The Princeton University Antioch Excavation.)

 

Gender Studies

Diotima
Materials for the Study of Women and gender in the Ancient World. Includes images and bibliography.

Subject Guide

Book Reviews - Bryn Mawr Classical Review

Bryn Mawr Classical Review - subscribe online for receipt of new reviews

Rutgers Classics Department

Society for Classical Studies [originally American Philological Association]

Rutgers Dissertations in Classics

Recent Rutgers Dissertation in Classics online

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Full-text resources. Log-in using a Rutgers Web ID & Password. This enables downloading and creating an individual collection.