Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Classics: Find Articles

Greek, Latin and the Classical World.

Using the library catalog

Use QuickSearch to search for library materials, regardless of format, that are owned by or accessible via the Rutgers University Libraries.  

Finding Articles for Classics

Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies

The following sources can be used to access bibliographic information on books and journal articles in Classics. The sources listed here include both sources specific to classics (such as L'Année Philologique); and sources that cover a broader subject area of which classics is a part. Many references will link to full-text articles. For the others, press 'Get it @ R' to launch a digital full-text search for the resource.

Electronic Indexes and Abstracts

netID required

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
A multi-discipline, full-text database of 3,200 scholarly publications as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,170 scholarly journals with some dating back to 1984. A valuable and large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals for nearly all academic areas of study.

L'Année Philologique
Bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2007 with new records added each year. L'Annee Philologique indexes modern editions of ancient texts, collections of articles (including Festschriften), journal articles, articles in topical collections, dissertations, and book reviews.

ATLA Religion Database
Articles in all areas of religion, including Greek and Roman mythologies (e.g., Zeus).  Some full-text articles.

DYABOLA
Bibliography of classical antiquities.

MLA International Bibliography (1926-present)
Indexes critical scholarship on philosophy as related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage includes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.

The Philosopher's Index (1940-present)
The preeminent indexing and abstracting service for philosophers and students of philosophy. Provides coverage of all major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian, as well as publications from related fields. Selected books are also indexed

Torrossa
​Full-text access to chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles published by the École française de Rome available through Torrossa of Casalini Libri. Subjects include Italian and Mediterranean history and archaeology from the prehistoric period to the present.

Internet Resources

Open Access

Electronic Resources for Classicists
Useful meta site with links to texts, images and reference material.

Gnomon Online: The Eichstätt  Information System for Classical Studies
Metasite for Classical studies, including on online bibliography. Other resources include numismatics and epigraphy. Search interface in English now available and linked here. Instruction pages in English and French too.

Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online. The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992.

Print Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies

Bulletin analytique d'histoire romaine
Alexander Reference Z2357.B93

Classical studies: a guide to the reference literature
ALEXANDER REFERENCE Z7016.J4 2006

Women in Antiquity: an Annotated Bibliography
ALEXANDER STACKS - Z7961.G66, Carr Stacks - HQ1127.G66 1975

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.