Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Classics: Find Texts

Greek, Latin and the Classical World.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Full-text resources. Log-in using Rutgers netID credentials. This enables downloading and creating an individual collection.

Book Reviews - Bryn Mawr Classical Review

Bryn Mawr Classical Review - subscribe online for receipt of new reviews

Rutgers Classics Text Portal

Creating digital libraries in specific subject areas is both very important to scholars and an opportunity for academic libraries to support the work of academic departments. Rutgers University Libraries is addressing this need by offering a collection of over 80 classics texts in this dedicated Classics Texts Portal. Many are classic titles now available in old and brittle editions. 

Using the subject Browse list is a convenient way to become familiar with these collections - see the Search and Browse functions below. Authors represented include Aristotle, Boethius, Epictetus, Galen, Marcus Aurelius and Plato. Some less famous works are included. Full text searching can be done across the entire collection for those texts that are in English or Latin.

You may also find William Smith's (1813-1893) Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities (1870) useful.

 

Resource Key

Rutgers users only

Free resource

Recommended

Texts and Papyrology

Greek and Latin Texts

Attalus: Sources for Greek and Roman Authors on the Web
The Attalus site contains information about written sources for Greek and Roman history between the campaigns of Alexander the Great and the early Roman Empire, covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East, including regions eventually in the Roman Empire. The time frame is from 322 to 42 B.C. E.

Diotima
Materials for the Study of Women and gender in the Ancient World. Includes images and bibliography.

Loeb Classical Library
A collection of over 500 classical works with page-by-page English translations. Includes all genres of Greek and Latin literature, such as epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and writings of Church fathers.

Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world.

Translated Texts for Historians
Contains major historic texts dating from from 300 to 800 A.D. translated into English. Original languages include Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian, Armenian and Old Irish. 

Greek

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (1940-present) (Rutgers netID required)
A digital library of Greek literature currently including most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium. More than 3,700 authors and in excess of 12,000 full-text works are included. The database provides information about the names, dates, geographical origins, and descriptive epithets for each author, together with detailed bibliographical information about existing text editions for each work.

Patrologiæ Græcæ (Rutgers netID required)
Contains searchable texts of Greek Christian writings from the earliest texts to the Fall of Constantinople (1453).

Brill's New Jacoby Online (Rutgers netID required)
Online version of Jacoby's edition of fragments of Greek histories and mythographies with added material published by Brill.

Latin

Brepolis Latin Databases
Includes the Library of Latin Texts (LLT), a database of thousands of Latin texts dating from late antiquity to the Middle Ages. 

Forum Romanum
Provides texts, translations, articles, and other resources for the classical scholar. It includes the Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum, a digital library covering the entire body of Latin literature, from the earliest inscriptions to the Neo-Latinist writers of the eighteenth century.

The Latin Library
Texts in the public domain. Includes Latin Christian, medieval and Neo-Latin texts.

Patrologia Latina (Rutgers netID required)
Contains searchable texts of Latin Christian writers from the earliest texts to the thirteenth century.

Virgil.org
Includes searchable Latin texts of Virgil and translations of his works.

Papyri

Duke Papyrus Archive
Texts on papyrus found in Egypt. Most are in Greek, but others are in Coptic, Demotic Egyptian or Arabic. Texts from the third century BCE to the seventh century CE are included.

Papyri.info
Has two primary components. The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.

Papyrology at Oxford
Includes the databases POxy: Oxyrhynchus Online and Reception of Greek Literature 300 BC - AD 800, as well as access to a database of Herculaneum Papyri.

Finding Classical Texts

These research tips represent some possible search strategies. When in doubt, consult a reference librarian. Ask for help using chat or email.

Finding Individual Works of Classical Authors

Search by Author in QuickSearch, using the most familiar form of the name. Thus: Terence, not Terentius Afer.

Search by Title: Use the original title where known to find editions, but translations can be found under it or a translated title. For example, Choephori or Libation bearers.

Finding Classical Texts in Specialized Series

Loeb Classical Library [texts facing translations]. Do an Advanced Search in QuickSearch using this series title. You can add another term like Author. Thus Author: Ovid and Title: Fasti.

Series title search

Greek series - Call number in the ALEXANDER STACKS PA3612. Additional copies can be found in the GRADUATE READING ROOM on the 3rd floor of the Alexander Library and in the DOUGLAS STACKS under the same call number.

Latin series - Call number in the ALEXANDER STACKS PA6156 Additional copies can be found in the GRADUATE READING ROOM on the 3rd floor of the Alexander Library and in the DOUGLAS STACKS.

See also the Loeb Classical Library Online. Public domain Loebs available via Edwin Donnelly's site.

Bibliotheca Scriptorium Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana - Do an Advanced Search on this series title. You can add another term like Author. Some of the Greek texts can be found in the ALEXANDER STACKS under PA3405; some of the Latin volumes, under PA6104.(CD-ROM version in ALEXANDER STACKS - PA6118.B53 2006.

Oxford Classical Texts - Do an Advanced Search by series titleScriptorum classicorum bibliotheca Oxoniensis. You can add another term like Author. Some Greek volumes can be found in the ALEXANDER STACKS under PA3405; some of the Latin volumes, under PA6105.

Finding Commentaries on Texts and Concordances

Do an Advanced Search with Author as Subject and keywords Commentary or Concordance. For example, Author: Cicero & Any field: concordance.

Commentary search

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.