This is the "Home" page of the "Medieval Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medieval Studies  

Includes medieval topics in all Arts and Humanities disciplines.
Last Updated: Mar 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/medieval Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding articles

Online Indexes

International Medieval Bibliography or IMB. [Rutgers Restricted]
The most comprehensive index for medieval studies with records for journals and articles in collected studies from 1967 onward. The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale is also accessible here.

L'Année Philologique [Rutgers Restricted]
The primary database for classical studies and Ancient Greece and Rome with coverage since 1969. Some medieval coverage too.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL). [Rutgers Restricted]
This index covers the full range of German language and literary studies; for medieval German language and literature studies published since 1985 it is superior to the IMB.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index.
This freely available database provides citations to articles on this subject in journals and many essay collections published since 1990, including publications in French, German, Spanish, and Italian.

Historical Abstracts. [Rutgers Restricted]
Covers all continents, except North America, beginning in 1450 with occasional entries for earlier periods. Indexes articles written since 1955 in more than fifty languages.

Iter: Gateway to the Renaissance. [Rutgers Restricted]
The Iter Bibliography indexes journals published from 1842 onward covering the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700, but most indexing begins only in 1996. Overlaps IMB. The site also includes a scholars' directory, the Iter Italicum finding list of humanist manuscripts, and the Baptisteria Sacra database.

Print Index

Medioevo Latino: Bolletino bibliografico della cultura europea dal secolo VI al XIIISpoleto: Centro italiano di studi sull'alto Medioevo, 1980- .
Alex Reference Z5579.5.M48 v.1- 1980-
Annual bibliography of medieval Latin authors and texts and related aspects of medieval culture with abstracts mostly in Italian. It is most useful for source- or manuscript-focused research.

 

 

Medieval Manuscripts at Rutgers

Paleography study collection, [before 844]-1571 (bulk [12--]-1510). 20 items.
Special Collections/University Archives MSS MC 886

Consists chiefly of fragments from medieval and early Renaissance manuscripts. A variety of texts, languages and scripts are represented. Most documents are in Latin, but there are also samples in medieval French, Spanish, Dutch, and German. Books of Hours (7 leaves), Bibles (3 leaves), Breviaries (1 leaf) and Graduals (1 leaf) are among the texts represented. Other manuscripts include leaves of a Koran, leaves of a Bavarian receipt book from 1374-1410, leaves from a Spanish monastery in 1471, and a psalm fragment in Hebrew.

There are various samples of medieval musical notation. These include two leaves of German Hufnagel [music] notation from around 1400 and a 15th-century Latin manuscript antiphonary, consisting of 40 leaves of music, MSS, MC 1211.

There is a 56-leaf compilation from fourteenth-century Germanic Europe that includes an Office for the Dead and Requiem Mass, and 17 pages of documents pertaining to the Hardenbergh family and possessions. Our longest original manuscript is a Book of Hours from fourteenth or fifteenth century. Most of the text is in Latin, but some German text has been written in a different hand, and many pages have colorful illuminations.

Many of these manuscript leaves had been employed for awhile as binding material, and then were separated from the books into which they had been bound.

Consult the reference staff in Special Collections and University Archives for preliminary checklists of this material or contact Manuscripts Curator Albert C. King. For selected Digital Images of the collection, go to Digital Scriptorium online. For illustrations and details concerning these items, see Barbara A. Shailor, "Otto Ege: His Manuscript Fragment Collection and the Opportunities Presented by Electronic Technology," Journal of the Rutgers University Libraries 60 (2003).

 

Internet Portals

The Labyrinth
The best known medieval studies portal, but less well maintained than previously

NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources is large and growing.

Reti Medievali
Even broader and international in coverage.

The Stanford Guide to Medieval Studies, SULAIR
Has been called "perhaps the best medieval subject guide on the Web."

Guide to Byzantine Studies at Dumbarton Oaks.

Guide to Renaissance Studies from Harvard University, including Villa I Tatti.

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography

Signets de la Bibliotheque: A French list of medieval sources from the Bibliotheque Nationale, Paris

 

Online Source Collections

ARTFL: American Research on the Treasury of the French Language [Rutgers Restricted]

Patrologia Latina [Rutgers Restricted] - early Latin texts in religion to the early 13th century

Patrologiæ Græcæ [Rutgers Restricted] - early Greek texts in religion with facing Latin translations

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae- TLG [Rutgers Restricted] 

Corpus de la Littérature Médiévale [Rutgers Restricted]

Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse [Rutgers Restricted]

Medieval and Early Modern Databank (MEMDB)

Internet Medieval Sourcebook

PBW: Prosopography of the Byzantine World
Biographical entries in English, compiled from contemporary sources.

Carolingian Digital Library

The Parliament Rolls of Medieval England, 1275-1504 [Rutgers Restricted]

Regesta Imperii - An inventory of the charters and historical sources of Holy Roman Emperors and Popes from Charlemagne to Maximilian I

The Anglo-American Tradition: Documents from Medieval and Early Modern England from the National Archives in London

Parker Library on the Web - Digitized manuscrupts from Corpus Christi College, Cambridge

Medieval Family Life - Full text & image database of primary sources from late medieval England

Carolingian Culture at Reichenau & St. Gall - This website presents digital versions othe Plan of St. Gall. and the extensive ninth-century library collections of the two monasteries, St. Gall and Reichenau, identifiable by their distinctive script.

Acta sanctorum - The Bollandists' classic collection of sources for the lives and legends of the saints.

 

Selected Reference Titles

Atlas

Atlas of medieval Europe / edited by David Ditchburn, Simon MacLean and Angus MacKay. 2nd ed.  (London; New York : Routledge, 2007. )
Alex Reference G1791.M2 2007

Bibliographies

Guide to the sources of medieval history / by R. C. van Caenegem, with the collaboration of F. L. Ganshof. Amsterdam; New York : North-Holland Pub. Co.; New York, 1978. 
Alex and Dana Reference D117.C2213

Typologie des sources du Moyen Age occidentale (Turnhout : Brepols, 1972 -)
Alex Stacks Z6203.T95 [various fascicles]
A series of monographs on the written and non-written sources for medieval history, by "type".

A guide to the study of medieval history, by Louis John Paetow. Rev. ed. (New York, F. S. Crofts, 1931). xvii p., 2 l., 3-643 p.
Alex Stacks, Douglass, LSM Reference Z6203.P126G2; reprint Robeson Reference Z6203.P19 1959
The standard historical bibliography organized by period and country.

Literature of medieval history, 1930-1975 : a supplement to Louis John Paetow's A guide to the study of medieval history / compiled and edited by Gray Cowan Boyce (Millwood, N.Y. : Kraus International Publications, c1981).
Alex, Dana Reference Z6203.P25 1980 Suppl. v1-5
Less evaluative than Paetow's work.

Repertorium fontium historiae Medii Aevi; primum ab Augusto Potthast digestum, nunc cura collegii historicorum e pluribus nationibus emendatum et auctum / August Potthast. (Romae: Istituto storico italiano per il Medio Evo, 1962-).
Alex Reference Z6203.R46 v.1-11 pt. 1/2 [ongoing]

Chronologies

The New Cambridge medieval history / edited by Rosamond McKitterick. (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1995-).
Alex Reference, McDonnell D117.N48 1995 v.1-7

Medieval narrative sources : a chronological guide / compiled by János M. Bak with the assistance of Heinz Quirin and Paul Hollingsworth. (New York : Garland Pub., 1987).
Alexander Stacks Z6203.B33 1987

General Historical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

New Catholic encyclopedia (New York : Thomson, Gale, 2002-).
Alex, Camden Reference BX841.N44 2002 v.1-15, also RU online [Rutgers Restricted]

Lexikon des Mittelalters / [hrsg. von Robert Auty ... et al.]. (München: Artemis-Verlag, [1977]- ).
Alex Reference D101.5.L49 Bd.1-10 and Alex Reference CD-ROM D114.L42 2000 also RU online  [Rutgers Restricted]

Dictionary of the Middle Ages / Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief. (New York : Scribner, c1982- ).
Alex, Art, Camden, Dana, Kilmer Reference D114.D5 1982 v1-13

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages / edited by Andre Vauchez; in conjunction with Barrie Dobson and Michael Lapidge; English translation by Adrian Walford. (Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.)
Alex, Camden Reference D114.E53 2000

BREPOLiS Medieval Encyclopedias: includes Lexikon des Mittelalters
An online-only supplement, RU online  [Rutgers Restricted].
The online edition of the ten-volume German language encyclopedia, 1977-99, Europa Sacra (a directory of medieval bishops), and International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages.

Routledge Encyclopedias of the Middle Ages
This series provides concise encyclopedic treatments of specific regions and themes within Medieval Europe.  By theme:

Medieval archaeology : an encyclopedia / Pam J. Crabtree. (New York: Garland Pub., 2001).
Alex, Camden Reference D125.M42 2001

Medieval Jewish civilization : an encyclopedia / Norman Roth. (New York: Routledge, 2002).
Alex, Camden Reference DS124.M386 2002

Medieval science, technology, and medicine : an encyclopedia / editors, Thomas F. Glick, Steven J. Livesey, Faith Wallis.
(New York : Routledge, 2005).
Alex Reference Q124.97.M43 2005

Trade, travel, and exploration in the Middle Ages : an encyclopedia / John Block Friedman et al.
(New York : Garland Pub., 2000)..
Alex Stacks, Camden Reference HF1001.T7 2000

Women and gender in medieval Europe: An encyclopedia / Margaret Schaus, editor.
(New York : Routledge, 2006).
Alex Reference HQ1147.E85W66 2006, on order

Language Dictionaries and Encyclopedias, Medieval Latin

Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus / J.F. Niermeyer & C. van de Kieft; revised by J.W.J. Burgers. (Leiden; Boston : Brill, 2002).
Alex Reference PA2890.N54 2002 v.1-2

Lexicon Latinitatis Medii Aevi : praesertim ad res ecclesiasticas investigandas pertinens, ed. Albert Blaise. (Turnholti : Brepols, 1975).
Alex Reference, Stacks PA2893.F7B6

Novum glossarium mediae Latinitatis, ab anno DCCC usque ad annum MCC, ed. F. Blatt, Y. Lefèvre, et al. (Hafniae, E. Munksgaard, 1957- ).
Alex Stacks PA2893.N6 v L-V. Permachino-Pingo
A serial publication, this dictionary provides translations in French of terms common from 800 to 1200.

Orbis Latinus; Lexikon lateinischer geographischer Namen des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit, ed. Benedict Graesse (Braunschweig, Klinkhardt & Biermann [c1972]).
Alex Reference G107.G8 1972 v.1-3
The one volume edition is also online.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tom Izbicki
Contact Info
Archibald S. Alexander Library
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
169 College Avenue
New Brunswick, New Jersey 08901-1163
Send Email
 

Medieval Studies at Rutgers

 

Book Reviews in Medieval Studies

https://scholarworks.iu.edu/dspace/handle/2022/3631 (formerly The Bryn Mawr Medieval Review)

Medieval Latin Dictionaries

Niermeyer, Medieval Latin Lexicon (1976)


      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip