Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

History of Social Welfare Policies & Programs Up to the 1930s: Finding Scholarly Articles

This guide focuses on resources that you can use when seeking information on the history of social welfare policies and programs in the U.S. up to the 1930s.

Finding Articles

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Full Text Not Attached?

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

Article Not Available/Only Available in Print?

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.

To find out how, take a look at this very short video.

Databases

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Among other databases includes: ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Proquest Criminal Justice, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, PAIS International, Proquest Political Science, Social Services Abstracts. and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Public Affairs Information Service
1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues. Goes back to 1915, so has interesting references for the period you are studying. Also included in ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection above. Rutgers-restricted Access

If you're looking for articles relating to the history of social welfare services and policies, you may also want to use America: History and Life, the premier index to American history:

America: History and Life
1964- .The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access