Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Target Populations: African Americans
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
New York, Macmillan, 1996. 5 vols plus Supplement (2001).
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
2nd edition. Detroit, Macmillan, 2006. 6 vols.
- Signed entries covering all aspects of African-American history and life. While the 2d edition expands the scope of the work beyond North America, it has only a little more than half of the number of entries found in the first edition. Many of the U.S.-centered articles (for example, entries on states and major cities) are not available in the 2d edition. About half of the articles that appear in both have been updated in the 2d edition. Bibliographic references. Together, a good starting point for research.
- Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 1996.
Dana Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 2006.Rutgers-restricted Access
- Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery.
- John Randall Miller and John David Smith, eds. New York, Greenwood, 1988.
- Extensive collection of articles relating to slavery in the U.S. Bibliographic references. Available?
- A Documentary History of the Negro People in the United States.
- Herbert Aptheker. New York, 1969. 3 vols.
- Compilation of documents, including petitions, speeches, testimonies, reports, letters, and other writings, covering the years 1661 to 1945. Available?
- Digital Harlem
- Information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City's Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930.
- "African American Social Work Pioneers' Response to Need,"
- Iris Carlton-LaNey. Social Work 44(4), July 1999, 311-321.
- "Discusses the fundamental values and principles that guided African American social work practice at the beginning of the century." Rutgers-restricted Access.
- "The Care of Dependent African-American Children in Chicago: The Struggle Between Black Self-Help and Professionalism,"
- Sandra M. O'Donnell. Journal of Social History 27, Summer 1994, 763-776.
- "The African-American self-help tradition of caring for dependent children in Chicago was undermined by the increased organization and professionalization of social welfare provisions during the Progressive and the post-World War I eras." Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Thomas K. Minter and Alfred E Prettyman. Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. New York, Macmillan, 1996, vol. 2, pp. 846-876.
- Overview of the history of African-American education from slavery thru current issues involving school choice. Includes a lengthy bibliography. Available?
Roberts to Plessy: Educational Segregation and the 'Separate But Equal' Doctrine,"
- Douglas J. Flicker. The Journal of Negro History 84(4), Autumn 1999, 301-314.
- Traces the history of legalized educational segregation. Rutgers-restricted Access.
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies