Open Resources in Alcohol Studies
Alcohol Studies Librarian
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
Credits
This LibGuide was developed at the Center of Alcohol Studies Library in 2015 by graduate assistants Will Haggis and Maria Ortiz-Myers under the supervision of Judit H. Ward and William Bejarano. Updates by Judit H. Ward.
Welcome!
Welcome to the Alcohol Studies Open Access Resources site. This virtual toolkit and research guide was created specifically for the needs of participants of seminars and certificate programs hosted at the Center of Alcohol Studies, as well as other guest users.
About the Alcohol Collection at Rutgers
The Alcohol Studies Collection at Rutgers comes from the Center of Alcohol Studies Library, which, until its closure in December 2016, used to maintain one of the world’s largest and most comprehensive collections of books, media and other documents pertaining to the biomedical and psychosocial aspects of alcohol use and abuse. All print resources are available in the Rutgers University Libraries.
While many of the electronic resources on substance abuse provided by Rutgers University Libraries can be only be accessed with a NetID, open-access resources are available to guest users.
Select archival materials digitized from the original collection are available, courtesy of RUcore, via the Digital Archives.
- Rutgers University Libraries websiteSearch millions of resources with QuickSearch, the libraries’ search engine. Searching is freely available for everyone. Look for the "Limit to" filter in the left panel and choose "Open access" to locate freely available content.
- RUL Access to Library Resources PolicyRutgers University Libraries’ collections are available to all individuals for use on site. By contract, off-campus access to Rutgers University Libraries licensed electronic resources is available only to current Rutgers faculty, students, staff, and faculty emeriti. Read more about access options on this page.
- Ask a LibrarianAnyone may use Ask a Librarian, the electronic reference service, wherever they are located. It includes a chat service and email reference.
- Digital Alcohol Studies CollectionThe Digital Alcohol Studies Archives collection hosts the digitized collections formerly held by the Rutgers Center of Alcohol and Substance Use Studies (CAS).
- Center of Alcohol Studies Library website (archived)Snapshots of the former website maintained by the Center of Alcohol Studies Library, courtesy Internet Archives/Wayback Machine.