Research Guides: Open Resources in Alcohol Studies: Articles

Popular Databases

The most commonly used medical databases, including articles related to alcohol and substance abuse.

PubMed Central
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
MedlinePlus
It provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science. Covers 1950 - present.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers. Some content is available in full text.

Specialized Databases

Below are a list of specialized databases focusing on alcohol and substance abuse research.

Alcohol Studies Database
Contains over 80,000 citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and audio-visual materials indexed from 1987 through 2007.
ETOH, The Alcohol and Alcohol Problems Science Database
This portal was developed by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) to aid researchers and practitioners locate information resources in the fields of alcohol research. The site offers links to multiple journals, web sites and databases, including the archived ETOH database (produced by NIAAA from 1972 to 2003, now hosted by the Hazelden-Betty Ford Foundation).
Project CORK
The original goal of Project Cork was to compile and distribute the prevailing scholarly information on substance use for clinicians, health care providers, human service personnel, and policy makers. The CORK database is a resource for locating literature of substance abuse and behavioral addictions. Materials include historically significant articles, clinical surveys, and Library Watch newsletters. Now hosted by the Hazelden-Betty Ford Foundation.
SALIS Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs Serials Databases
Lists of publications on alcohol, tobacco or other drugs assembled by the Substance Abuse Librarians and Information Specialists Association (SALIS).

Open Resources in Alcohol Studies

Search Term Development

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

Popular Databases

Using Google Scholar

Specialized Databases

Better search results with AND & OR