Open Resources in Alcohol Studies
Science Librarian on Cook/Douglass
Liaison to the Center of Alcohol Studies
Print Archives
The former Alcohol Studies Archives and Special Collections at the Information Services Division are now housed in the Rutgers University Annex, with the exception of the Ralph G. Connor Alcohol Research Reference Files (CARRF), and currently unavailable for research. Select materials have been digitized and are available in the Digital Alcohol Studies Archives. Contact the librarian for more information.
Digital Alcohol Studies Archives and Exhibit
This open access collection provides free access to over 1,500 searchable full texts and images selected from the print collection, digital artifacts, and remnants of the defunct CAS Library and Archives. A collection preserved and partly digitized over eighty years at Yale and Rutgers provides a glimpse into a crucial phase in the history of science: the birth and evolution of modern-day alcohol studies as the Section on Alcohol Studies evolved into the Center of Alcohol Studies from the initial period at Yale (1943-1961) through the successive decades at Rutgers since 1962. As a leader in research, education, and training on alcohol and other drugs, the Rutgers Center has been both a vital part of the field's history and a crucial institutional repository for preserving and disseminating that history, dating back to its inaugural survey of scientific literature on alcohol in 1940.
- Digital Alcohol Studies Archives homepageStart your research on the homepage of the Digital Alcohol Studies Archives to explore both the available items and the background.
- Digital Collection Search PortalSearch and browse digitized collections formerly held by the Rutgers Center of Alcohol (CAS) Library and Archives presented by RUcore, the Rutgers University Community Repository through this portal.
- Alcohol Studies ExhibitBrowse this online exhibit of unique resources amassed at the Yale and Rutgers Centers of Alcohol Studies over more than eighty years. Consists of five distinct exhibits: "Firsts" from the First; 80 years of Summer School of Alcohol Studies, The Mysterious E. M. Jellinek; Keller Papers; and Temperance Tales.
The collection is divided into five sections: publications, notable people, special collections, Summer School, and images, with a search portal on the homepage.
- Publications CollectionUnique resources from CAS, a pioneer in publishing both scholarly and lay literature related to the use and misuse of alcohol.
- Notable People CollectionDrafts, manuscripts of publications and conference presentations, correspondence, notes, and ephemera related to the founders of alcohol studies, such as Selden D. Bacon, John Anthony Carpenter, Leon G. Greenberg, Howard W. Haggard, Yandell Henderson, E. M. Jellinek, Mark Keller, and Raymond G. McCarthy.
- Special CollectionsIncludes digitized materials from the print Archive and Manuscript Collections as well as documentation and finding aids to the Classified Abstract Archive of the Alcohol Literature (CAAAL), the Ralph G. Connor Alcohol Research Reference Files (CARRF), the Raymond G. McCarthy Memorial Collection, and the Temperance Collection.
- Summer School of Alcohol StudiesMaterials related to the Summer School of Alcohol Studies (1943 - present), the first of its kind, connecting addiction professionals with practical training informed by the latest research. Includes program brochures and Alumni News.
- Alcohol Studies Historical Images CollectionIt contains photographs, illustrations, sketches, and scans of documents such as cover art and promotional material. Search or browse via the search portal or the link above.