Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Comparative Literature: Newspapers

Research Guide for Comparative Literature

Full Text Newspaper Databases

See the Libraries' list of databases under Current Events and Newspapers for a comprehensive list of newspaper sources.

Access World News - Full-text access to many international news sources. (netID restricted)

Chronicling America - Search across newspapers from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. (Open Access)

Europeana Newspapers - Prototype newspaper browser for full-text access to 10 million European newspapers. (Open Access)

Factiva (Dow Jones) - Vast archive of newspapers, magazine articles, corporate financial reports and investment analyses. Publications from hundreds countries. See this guide for helpful hints on searching Factiva. (netID restricted)

Global Press Archive - Contains digitized historical news sources from around the world, including Imperial Russian Newspapers (1782-1917); Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (1807-1929); Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949); Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (1870-2019). 

Latin American Newspapers - This collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Retrospective access to the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1993). (netID restricted)

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.