Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Comparative Literature: Postcolonial Studies

Research Guide for Comparative Literature

Selected Reference Works

Africa

Chabal, Patrick. The Post-Colonial Literature of Lusophone Africa. Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 1996. https://bit.ly/3jm85zf.

Killam, G. D., and Ruth Rowe. The Companion to African Literatures. Oxford: James Currey, 2010. https://bit.ly/3A8UAcc.

Smithe, Jonathan P. African Literature: Overview and Bibliography. New York: Nova Science Publishers, 2002. https://bit.ly/3hi43Wb.

Caribbean, Latin America

Balderston, Daniel. Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003. Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2004. https://bit.ly/3vWmzso.

Benson, Eugene, and Leonard W. Conolly. Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English. 2nd ed. London: Routledge, 2005. https://bit.ly/3qurlfw

→ Organized by genre, major subject, and biographies.

Figueredo, D. H. Encyclopedia of Caribbean Literature. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2006. https://bit.ly/3w6t242.

Knight, Franklin W., and Henry Louis Gates. Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography. Oxford: University Press, 2016. https://bit.ly/3h1I1rL.

Pactor, Howard S. Colonial British Caribbean Newspapers: A Bibliography and Directory. Bibliographies and Indexes in World History, No. 19. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. https://bit.ly/35Ys3Za.

Poddar, Prem, and David Johnson. A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Thought in English. New York: Columbia University Press, 2005. https://bit.ly/2U9hWhi.

→ Includes bibliographical references and indexes.

Redmond, Walter Bernard. Bibliography of the Philosophy in the Iberian Colonies of America. International Archives of the History of Ideas, 51. The Hague: Nijhoff, 1972. https://bit.ly/3x60sB2.

North America

Lecker, Robert, and Jack David. The Annotated Bibliography of Canada’s Major Authors. Downsview, Canada: ECW Press, 1979. https://bit.ly/2ULOXk9.

O’Brien, Elmer J. The Wilderness, the Nation, and the Electronic Era American Christianity and Religious Communication, 1620-2000: An Annotated Bibliography. ATLA Bibliography Series ; No. 57. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2009. https://bit.ly/3hcabz6.

Ocampo, Aurora M. Diccionario de escritores mexicanos. 1. ed. Ciudad de México: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México Centro de Estudios Literarios, 1967. https://bit.ly/3A9AwX4.

Retrospective

Library of Congress Division of Bibliography. The British Empire in Africa: Selected References. Washington, 1942. https://bit.ly/3jomwTA.

Meyers, Charles Lee. Bibliography of Colonial Costume: Compiled for the Society of Colonial Wars in the State of New Jersey. New York: sn, 1923. https://bit.ly/3A8DtXV.

Royal Commonwealth Society Library. A Select Bibliography of Publications on Foreign Colonisation--German, French, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Spanish, and Belgian--Contained in the Library of the Royal Colonial Institute. Royal Colonial Institute Bibliographies ; No. 1. London: Royal colonial institute, 1915. https://bit.ly/3A3NjKO.

Women's Studies

Biblowitz, Iris, Women and Literature Collective, and Sense and Sensibility Collective. Women and Literature: An Annotated Bibliography of Women Writers. 3d ed. Cambridge, Mass: Women and Literature Collective, 1976. https://bit.ly/2UCPRzc.

Buvinić, Mayra. Women and World Development: An Annotated Bibliography. Washington: Overseas Development Council, 1976. https://bit.ly/3A6cOLn.

Daims, Diva. Toward a Feminist Tradition: An Annotated Bibliography of Novels in English by Women, 1891-1920. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities ; v. 201. New York: Garland Pub Co, 1982. https://bit.ly/3huf9aP.

Leonard, Kathy S. Latin American Women Writers: A Resource Guide to Titles in English. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2007. https://bit.ly/3y1htwy.

Paravisini-Gebert, Lizabeth, and Olga Torres-Seda. Caribbean Women Novelists: An Annotated Critical Bibliography. Bibliographies and Indexes in World Literature, No. 36. Westport, Conn. ; Greenwood Press, 1993. https://bit.ly/2UHiyuV.

New Books in Postcolonial Thought

Postcolonial Studies (journal)

Loading ...

Related Research Guides

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.