Comparative Literature

Archives and Libraries

• Historical Medical Library, College of Physicians of Philadelphia: holdings include over 400 incunables (books printed before 1500), manuscripts, and a comprehensive collection of 19th and early 20th-century medical journals.
• History of Medicine, Special Collection at Rutgers-Newark: wide variety of materials documenting the history of the health sciences in New Jersey, medical history in general, and the history of UMDNJ and its antecedent institutions. Contact Bob Vietrogoski for more information.
• History of Medicine Finding Aids Consortium: index of 3,600 finding aids from 35 institutions that collect in the history of medicine
• New York Academy of Medicine: rare books, personal papers, manuscripts relating to medical organizations and societies. Digitized materials at https://digitalcollections.nyam.org.

Digital Collections

• Historical Anatomies on the Web: National Library of Medicine (NLM) digital project designed to give access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. 
• Images from the History of Medicine (IHM): Provides access to over 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
• Medical Heritage Library: curated, open access collection of thousands of historical resources in medicine, including medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films. Access via MHL and Internet Archive. 
• Medical Historical Library, Yale University: access to books, manuscripts, artifacts, ephemera, art, drawings and posters. Digital materials under Digitized Collections.
• MEDSpace Digital Repository, Duke University: A collection of items from Duke's Historical Images in Medicine (HIM) database. Included are digitized versions of Georg Bartisch's Ophthalmodouleia, Das ist Augendienst (1583), The Four Seasons (17th Century), Dr. Howard T. Stewart's album of eminent physicians and scientists (mid-19th Century), and a collection of over 500 medically-related bookplates. 
• Wellcome Library: major resource for images, published and unpublished documents, journals, art, and databases in the medical humanities. Grant funding for the medical humanities through the Wellcome Trust.

Directories, Databases, Blogs

• Literature, Arts, and Medicine Database: multi-institutional project begun by New York University School of Medicine comprised of an annotated multimedia bibliography of resources for teaching and research.
• Medical Humanities, a Humanities Commons Group: includes articles, book chapters, and visual resources.

Journals

• Bellevue Literary Review
• Bulletin of the History of Medicine (netID required)
• Daedalus (netID required)
• The Healing Muse (netID required)
• The Journal of Medical Humanities (netID required)
• Literature and Medicine (netID required)
• Medical Humanities (netID required)
• Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics (netID required)
• Philosophy, Ethics and Humanities in Medicine (netID required)
• Science, Technology and Human Values (netID required)

Major Research Centers

• Durham University, Centre for Medical Humanities
• King's College London, Centre for the Humanities and Health
• University of Leeds, Centre for Medical Humanities
• University of Leicester, Medical Humanities Research Centre
• University of Texas Medical Branch, Institute for the Medical Humanities
• Yale School of Medicine, Medical Humanities & the Arts