Core Competencies for Rutgers New Jersey Medical School - RBHS

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system)This source includes information on primary psychiatric conditions associated with anxiety; medical diagnosis that may be associated with symptoms of anxiety; medications and toxins; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning generalized anxiety disorder; social anxiety disorder; specific phobia; school refusal; depression - differential diagnosis; and mania - differential diagnosis.

(by Richard C. Shelton, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to anxiety disorders; panic disorder with or without agoraphobia; phobic disorders – specific phobia & social phobia; generalized anxiety disorders; and a “See Also” section.

(by Martha C. Ward, MD, and Steven Garlow, MD, PhD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This chapter includes a section on anxiety disorders.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on bipolar disorder; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning depression and hypomania.

(by David A. Brent, MD, and Raymond J. Pan, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes information on essentials of diagnosis for bipolar disorder; general considerations; clinical findings; differential diagnosis (including comorbid conditions); treatment; complications/adverse outcomes of treatment; prognosis; and a “See Also” section.

(by Joseph A. Kwentus, MD, and Howard S. Kirshner, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This chapter includes a section on delirium.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on delirium; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning dementia evaluation; alzheimer disease; frontotemporal dementia; vascular dementia; and behavioral disturbance in patients with dementia.

(by Steven A. Cole, MD, John F. Christensen, PhD, Mary Raju Cole, RN, MS, APRN, BC, Henry Cohen, MS, Pharm D, FCCM, and Mitchell D. Feldman, MD, MPhil – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an entire chapter on depression.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on depression; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning antidepressant efficacy in depression; dysthymia for "chronic depression"; seasonal affective disorder; postpartum depression; antidepressant medication overview; psychotherapy for depression; depression alternative treatments; and Physician Quality Reporting System Quality Measures.

(by Herbert Y. Meltzer, MD, William V. Bobo, MD, Stephan H. Heckers, MD, and Hossein S. Fatemi, MD, PhD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This chapter includes essentials of diagnosis for schizophrenia; general considerations; neurochemical abnormalities; structural brain abnormalities; functional brain abnormalities; genetic hypothesis; clinical findings; course of illness; differential diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on schizophrenia; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning antipsychotics; depression; bipolar disorder; and schizoaffective disorder.

(by William D. Clark, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to alcohol & substance use; etiology & pathophysiology; working effectively with patients; diagnostic categories; identifying substance-use problems; physical examination & laboratory studies; management of withdrawal; intervention strategies; pharmacologic considerations; which patients should be referred; suggested readings; web sites; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on alcohol intoxication; alcohol use disorder; amphetamine abuse; cocaine abuse; inhalant abuse; opioid abuse or dependence; opioid overdose; sedative-hypnotic overdose; tobacco use disorder; withdrawal - alcohol withdrawal, opioid withdrawal, and neonatal opiate withdrawal; additional information; quality improvement; and references including reviews and guidelines.