Core Competencies for Rutgers New Jersey Medical School - RBHS

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information concerning allergic conjunctivitis; allergic rhinitis; anaphylaxis; food allergy; hymenoptera sting allergy; penicillin allergy; and sulfa allergy.

(by K. Frank Austen – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to allergies, anaphylaxis, and systemic mastocytosis; specific anaphylaxis section; urticaria and angioedema; pathophysiology and manifestations; diagnosis; systemic mastocytosis; allergic rhinitis; further readings; a “See Also” section; and lecture notes.

(by Martha C. Ward, MD & Steven Garlow, MD, PhD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes key clinical questions concerning mood and anxiety disorders; depression; bipolar disorder; anxiety disorders; suggested readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information concerning asthma in children; asthma and in adults and adolescents; medications for asthma; additional asthma topics; along with related summaries on asthma exacerbation in children; asthma in children; asthma exacerbation in adults and adolescents; and asthma in adults and adolescents.

(by Peter J. Barnes – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to asthma; prevalence; etiology; pathogenesis; asthma triggers; pathophysiology; clinical features and diagnosis; acute severe asthma; refractory asthma; special considerations; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on acute low back pain and chronic low back pain.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of chest pain; differential diagnosis; identifying ischemic heart disease; evaluation of nonischemic chest pain; management; prognosis of nonischemic chest pain; pediatric chest pain; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning coronary artery disease (list of topics); cardiac troponin testing; management of angina; acute coronary syndrome; physician quality reporting system quality measures; and Medicare hospital outpatient department quality measures.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about depression; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning antidepressant efficacy in depression; dysthymia for “chronic depression;” seasonal affective disorder; postpartum depression; antidepressant medication overview; psychotherapy for depression; depression alternative treatments; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system)
This source includes key features of depression; clinical findings; diagnosis; treatment; and outcome.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on atopic dermatitis and contact dermatitis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on types of diabetes; diabetes prevention and screening; treatment targets in patients with diabetes; nonpharmacologic management of diabetes; medications for diabetes; and complications of diabetes.

(by Alvin C. Powers – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to diabetes mellitus; classification; epidemiology; diagnosis; insulin biosynthesis, secretion, and action; pathogenesis; genetically defined, monogenic forms of diabetes mellitus (DM); acute complications of DM; chronic complications of DM; long-term treatment; complications of therapy for diabetes mellitus; ongoing aspects of comprehensive diabetes care; special considerations in diabetes mellitus; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections concerning otitis extrena; acute otitis media; chronic suppurative otitis media; and otitis media with effusion.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on headache; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning migraine (list of topics); migraine in adults; migraine in children and adolescents; migraine – treatment of acute attack; and tension headache.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on hypertension; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 Codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning hypertensive emergency; blood pressure measurement and monitoring; high blood pressure - differential diagnosis; first-line therapy for hypertension - hypertension treatment in elderly patients, hypertension treatment considerations for race and ethnicity, hypertension treatment in patients with diabetes, hypertension treatment in patients with chronic kidney disease; antihypertensive medications overview; DASH diet; hypertension alternative treatments; cardiovascular disease and obstructive sleep apnea; hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; and more.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on degenerative joint disease of specific sites of upper body under the topic: degenerative joint disease of the carpometacarpal joint of thumb, and for degenerative joint disease of specific sites of lower body degenerative joint disease of the low back; degenerative joint disease of the hip; degenerative joint disease of the knee; and degenerative joint disease of the ankle. It also includes ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; references including reviews and guidelines; and patient information.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on body dysmorphic disorder; conversion disorder; hypochondriasis; pain disorder; and somatization disorder.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on upper respiratory infection (URI); causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute bronchitis; streptococcal pharyngitis; acute sinusitis; acute otitis media; allergic rhinitis; corticosteroids for wheezing in children; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on acute cystitis in adults; urinary tract infection (UTI) in children; and catheter associated urinary tract infection (UTI).

(by Lewis, E., Matheny, S., & South-Paul, J – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to health maintenance for adults and a “See Also” section.

(byMolly J. Richards; David W. Kaplan; Amy E. Sass – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to adolescence; demography; mortality data; mobidity data; delivery of health services; guidelines for adolescent preventative services; relating to the adolescent patient; the setting; confidentiality; the structure of the visit; growth & development; puberty; physical growth; sexual maturation; psychosocial development; behavior & psychological health; psychophysiologic symptoms & conversion reactions; depression; adolescent suicide; substance abuse; eating disorders; overweight; school avoidance; school failure; breast disorders; breast masses; nipple discharge and galactorrhea; gynecologic disorders in adolescence; physiology of menstruation; pelvic examination; menstrual disorders; contraception; and pregnancy.

(by Meghan Treitz; Maya Bunik; David Fox – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a introduction to ambulatory and office pediatrics; pediatric history; pediatric physical examination; health supervision visits; developmental & behavioral assessment; growth parameters; blood pressure; vision & hearing screening; screening; anticipatory guidance; nutrition counseling; counseling about television & other media; and immunizations. Other types of general pediatric service included are: acute-care visits; prenatal visits; sports physicals; chronic disease management; counseling; consultations; telephone management & web-based information; and advocacy & community pediatrics. Common pediatric issues included are: fever; growth deficiency; and web resources on these topics.

This source includes essentials of well child care; general approach; health maintenance and disease prevention; clinical features; concerns in normally developing children; medical problems; and a “See Also” section.