Core Competencies for Rutgers New Jersey Medical School - RBHS

by - Edward J. Hoffenberg; Glenn T. Furuta; Gregory Kobak; Edwin Liu; Jason Soden; Robert E. Kramer; David Brumbaugh – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on recurrent abdominal pain in children amongst other sections on the gastrointestinal tract.

(by William Silen – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to abdominal pain including mechanisms of pain originating in the abdomen, such as: inflammation of the parietal peritoneum; obstruction of hollow viscera; vascular disturbances; abdominal wall; approach to the patient; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of seizure in children; general information; differential diagnosis; history and physical; diagnostic testing; management; prognosis; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning seizure (list of topics); seizure in adults; status epilepticus; epilepsy in children; febrile seizure; antiepileptic drugs (AEDs) for seizure disorders.

(by Maija Holsti – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on First-Time Afebrile Seizures.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes a definition of anemia – differential diagnosis; classification of anemia; related laboratory indices; clinical presentation; microcytic anemia; normocytic anemia; macrocytic anemia; other causes of severe anemia in children; red cell abnormalities on peripheral smear; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references.

(by Danielle Smith; Theresa R. Grover– AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes information on anemias in newborn children.

(Daniel R. Ambruso; Rachelle Nuss; Michael Wang- AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on Anemias.

(by Robin R. Hemphill – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes sections on Anemia: Introduction; Pathophysiology; Clinical Features; Diagnosis; Treatment; Disposition and Follow-Up; Acknowledgment; and References.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about appendicitis; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning abdominal pain – differential diagnosis, and acute abdomen.

(Edward J. Hoffenberg; Glenn T. Furuta; Gregory Kobak; Edwin Liu; Jason Soden; Robert E. Kramer; David Brumbaugh – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on acute appendicitis in pediatric patients.

(by Anupam B. Kharbanda and Rasha D. Sawaya - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This chapter includes a section on appendicitis.

(by Michael E. Hanley, MD and Carolyn H. Welsh, MD - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes sections on Essentials of Diagnosis; General Considerations; Pathogenesis; Clinical Manifestations; Differential Diagnosis; Treatment; and Special Considerations.

(by Ronina A. Covar; David M. Fleischer; Christine Cho; Mark Boguniewicz – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on Asthma.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about bronchiolitis; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries on asthma in children.

(byMonica J. Federico; Christopher D. Baker; Emily M. Deboer; Ann C. Halbower; Oren Kupfer; Stacey L. Martiniano; Scott D. Sagel; Paul Stillwell; Edith T. Zemanick; Michelle Caraballo; Stephen Hawkins – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on bronchiolitis in pediatric patients.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about cellulitis; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning erysipelas; periorbital cellulitis; orbital cellulitis; skin abscess; fasciitis; and Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infection.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about cerebral palsy (CP); causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning periventricular leukomalacia; stroke in children; intraventricular hemorrhage of infancy; perinatal asphyxia; and perinatal stroke.

(by Sita Kedia; Kelly Knupp; Teri L. Schreiner; Michele L. Yang; Jeremy Toler; Paul G. Moe - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on Cerebral Palsy.

(by Mark A. Erickson; Jason Rhodes; Cameron Niswander - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on Orthopedic Aspects of Cerebral Palsy.

(by Carol D. Berkowitz - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes sections on Spectrum of Child Abuse and Neglect; Clinical Features Overview; Child Neglect; Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy; Sexual Abuse; Physical Abuse; Management; and References.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes heart failure; acute heart failure; diastolic heart failure; diagnosis and prognosis; treatment – pharmacologic considerations and nonpharmacologic treatments; and prevention.

(by Linton L. Yee and Garth D. Meckler - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes sections on Pediatric Heart Disease: Congenital Heart Defects: Introduction; Epidemiology; Physiology; Cyanosis; Shock; Congestive Heart Failure; Pediatric Murmurs; Interventional and Surgical Repair of Congenital Heart Defects; Acknowledgment; and References.

(by Linton L. Yee and Garth D. Meckler - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes sections on: Pediatric Heart Disease: Acquired Heart Disease: Introduction; Inflammatory Diseases; Infection; Cardiomyopathy; Acknowledgment; and References.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of chronic cough in children; general information; differential diagnosis; history and physical; diagnostic testing; management; prognosis; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning chronic cough in adults; pertussis; allergic rhinitis; gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD); and asthma (list of topics).

(AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes key features of cough; clinical findings; diagnosis; treatment; and outcome.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about cystic fibrosis (CF); causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning pneumonia in children and pneumonia in adults.

(by Richard C. Boucher – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to cystic fibrosis; pathogenesis; clinical features; diagnosis; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about dehydration and hypovolemia; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning hypovolemic shock and rehydration in children.

(by Matthew F. Daley; Sean T. O’Leary; Ann-Christine Nyquist- AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes sections on: Immunization: Introduction; Standards for Pediatric Immunization Practices; Routine Childhood & Adolescent Immunization Schedules; and Vaccinations for Special Situations.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on pediatric immunizations; adult immunizations; immunizations in pregnancy and other conditions; contraindications and adverse effects; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning influenza vaccines in adults and influenza vaccines in children.

(by Meghan Treitz; Maya Bunik; David Fox - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on developmental delay.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes warning signs; screening tools; developmental milestones; prognosis; guidelines and resources; and references.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about failure to thrive in children; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning short stature and nutrition (pediatric preventative care).

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on febrile seizure; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning seizure (list of topics); seizure in children; epilepsy in children; antiepileptic drugs (AEDs) for seizure disorders; and fever without apparent source in children aged 3-36 months.

(by Maija Holsti – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on febrile seizures in children.

(byMaria Stephan, MD; Craig Carter, DO; and Shah Ashfaq, BS – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on fever.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on fever without apparent source in critically ill adults; fever without apparent source in long-term care residents; upper respiratory infection; fever without apparent source in infants less than 3 months old; fever without apparent source in children aged 3-36 months; and fever of unknown origin.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about rotavirus gastroenteritis; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with infectious gastroenteritis; rotavirus vaccine live oral; and rehydration therapy in children.

(by Shikha S. Sundaram, MD, MSCI; Edward J. Hoffenberg, MD; Robert E. Kramer, MD; Judith M. Sondheimer, MD; and Glenn T. Furuta, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section concerning gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD).

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD); causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning functional dyspepsia; peptic ulcer disease; gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) in infants; Barrett esophagus; esophageal cancer; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(byEdward J. Hoffenberg; Glenn T. Furuta; Gregory Kobak; Edwin Liu; Jason Soden; Robert E. Kramer; David Brumbaugh – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on glomerilonephritis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on acute post-streptococcal glomerulonephritis; alport syndrome; goodpasture syndrome; IgA nephropathy; minimal change disease; lupus nephritis; membranoproliferative glomerulonephritis; membranous glomerulonephritis; and references (including reviews and guidelines).

(by Allan W. Wolkoff – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes information on bilirubin metabolism; disorders of bilirubin metabolism leading to unconjugated hyperbilirubinemia; disorders of bilirubin metabolism leading to mixed or predominantly conjugated hyperbilirubinemia; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on abnormal liver function tests – differential diagnosis, and neonatal hyperbilirubinemia.

(by Douglas M. Ford; Melisha G. Hanna – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on hypernatremia.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on dehydration and hypovolemia and primary hyperaldosteronism.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an general information on hypertension; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning hypertensive emergency; blood pressure measurement and monitoring; high blood pressure - differential diagnosis; first-line therapy for hypertension - hypertension treatment in elderly patients, hypertension treatment considerations for race and ethnicity, hypertension treatment in patients with diabetes, hypertension treatment in patients with chronic kidney disease; antihypertensive medications overview; DASH diet; hypertension alternative treatments; cardiovascular disease and obstructive sleep apnea; hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; and hypertension in children and adolescents.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of hematuria in children; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries including hematuria in adults; IgA nephropathy; acute postinfectious glomerulonephritis; nephrolithiasis; hypercalciuria; urinary tract infection (UTI) in children; and proteinuria.

(by Douglas M. Ford; Melisha G. Hanna – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on hyponatremia.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on hyponatremia; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning syndrome of inappropriate antidiuretic hormone secretion (SIADH).

(by Natalie E. West, MD, MHS and Noah Lechtzin, MD, MHS – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes key clinical questions concerning hypoxia; an introduction; pathophysiology and mechanisms of hypoxia; confirming hypoxia at bedside – measures of oxygenation; approach to hypoxia at bedside; treatment considerations; conclusion; suggested readings; and a “See Also” section.

(by Matthew A. Haemer; Laura E. Primak; Nancy F. Krebs - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on infant feeding.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on intussusception; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on acute lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma; acute myeloid leukemia (AML); chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL); and chronic myeloid leukemia.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on bacterial meningitis in adults; bacterial meningitis in infants and children; viral meningitis; and aseptic meningitis.

(by Karen L. Roos, MD and Jared R. Brosch, MD, MS - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This chapter includes various sections on meningitis.

(by Douglas M. Ford; Melisha G. Hanna – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on metabolic acidosis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on anion gap metabolic acidosis and hyperchloremic metabolic acidosis.

(by Pei-Ni Jone; Jeffrey R. Darst; Kathryn K. Collins; Shelley D. Miyamoto – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on heart murmurs.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on heart murmur in children; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning congenital heart disease and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on nephrotic syndrome in children; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning nephrotic syndrome in adults; proteinuria; focal glomerulosclerosis; minimal change disease; and membranoproliferative glomerulonephritis.

(by Christine E. Koerner – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on nephrotic syndrome.

(by Elizabeth H. Thilo, MD and Adam A. Rosenberg, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) The source’s entire first section contains information on the newborn infant.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on childcare and interaction; physical exam; hospital care; preventative care; newborn screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning screening tests (pediatric preventative care) and prematurity.

(by Danielle Smith; Theresa R. Grover – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on otitis media.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on acute otitis media; chronic suppurative otitis media; and otitis media with effusion.

(by Patricia J. Yoon; Melissa A. Scholes; Norman R. Friedman – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on pharyngitis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on streptococcal pharyngitis; causes of acute pharyngitis; additional considerations; guidelines and resources; and references; along with related summaries concerning infectious mononucleosis; upper respiratory infection (URI); and steroids for pharyngitis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on pneumonia in children; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning pneumonia (list of topics); nosocomial pneumonia; antibiotics for pediatric outpatients with community-acquired pneumonia; antibiotics for pediatric inpatients with community-acquired pneumonia; parapneumonic effusion and empyema in children; and pneumonia in adults.

(by Joseph E. Copeland – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an entire chapter on pneumonia.

(by Leonard G. Gomella and Steven A. Haist - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on immunization guidelines.

(by Matthew F. Daley; Sean T. O’Leary; Ann-Christine Nyquist – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an entire chapter on immunizations.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on pediatric immunizations; adult immunizations; immunizations in pregnancy and other conditions; contraindications and adverse effects; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning influenza vaccines in adults and influenza vaccines in children.

(by Jean L. Bolognia, and Irwin M. Braverman – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on purpura.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on septic arthritis; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning disseminated gonococcal infection; reactive arthritis; and osteomyelitis.

(by Daniel R. Ambruso; Rachelle Nuss; Michael Wang – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes under the title “Congenital Hemolytic Anemias: Hemoglobinopathies” a section on sickle cell disease.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on sickle cell disease; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; and related summaries concerning management of complications of sickle cell disease; beta-thalassemia; beta-thalassemia minor; and alpha-thalassemia.

(by Mark A. Knox, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on infections of the upper respiratory tract.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on upper respiratory infection (URI); causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute bronchitis; streptococcal pharyngitis; acute sinusitis; acute otitis media; allergic rhinitis; corticosteroids for wheezing in children; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(by Melissa A. Cadnapaphornchai; Gary M. Lum – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a section on urinary tract infections.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on urinary tract infection (UTI) in children; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute cystitis in adults; acute pyelonephritis; asymptomatic bacteriuria; and clinical prediction of urinary tract infection.

(by Mark A. Knox, MD - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source contains an entire chapter on common infections in children.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of nausea and vomiting in infants and children; general information; differential diagnosis; history and physical; diagnostic testing; management; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning nausea and vomiting in adults; rotavirus gastroenteritis; gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) in infants; nausea and vomiting in pregnancy; and dehydration and hypovolemia.

(by Molly J. Richards; David W. Kaplan; Amy E. Sass – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a chapter on the well adolescent.

(by Meghan Treitz; Maya Bunik; David Fox – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a chapter on the well child.

(by Sukanya Srinivasan, MD, MPH, and Donald B. Middleton, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes a chapter on the essentials of well child care.