Core Competencies for Rutgers New Jersey Medical School - RBHS

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on gastrointestinal causes of abdominal pain; non-gastrointestinal causes; pediatric causes most common by age; quality improvement; guidelines & resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute abdomen; functional dyspepsia; recurrent abdominal pain in children; and dyspepsia – differential diagnosis.

(by William Silen – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source contains an introduction to abdominal pain including mechanisms of pain originating in the abdomen, such as: inflammation of the parietal peritoneum; obstruction of hollow viscera; vascular disturbances; abdominal wall; approach to the patient; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about acute coronary syndrome; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning coronary artery disease (list of topics); ST-elevation myocardial infarction (STEMI); coronary artery disease; management of angina; and chest pain.

(by Brian G. Hynes, MB, BCh, BAO, MRCPI, & Deepak L. Bhatt, MD, MPH, FACP – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This sources includes clinical key questions about acute coronary syndrome; an introduction; pathophysiology; diagnosis; triage of patients with acute coronary syndrome; pharmacologic therapy; discharge planning; quality improvement; a conclusion; suggested readings; and a “See Also” section.

(Andrew J. Boyle, MBBS, PhD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes acute myocardial infarction essentials of diagnosis; general considerations; pathophysiology & etiology; clinical findings; treatment; complications of myocardial infarction; prognosis, risk stratification, & management; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about ST-elevation myocardial infarction; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning coronary artery disease (list of topics); acute coronary syndrome; coronary artery disease (CAD) (for old myocardial infarction [MI]); Thrombolytics for ST-elevation myocardial infarction (STEMI); Revascularization for ST-elevation myocardial infarction (STEMI); Physician Quality Reporting System Quality Measures; Medicare/Joint Commission National Hospital Inpatient Quality Measures; and Medicare Hospital Outpatient Department Quality Measures.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about acute renal failure; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute renal failure differential diagnosis; renal replacement therapy for acute renal failure; acute tubular necrosis; and chronic kidney disease.

(by Richard Sinert & Peter R. Peacock, Jr. – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to acute renal failure; epidemiology; pathophysiology; clinical features; diagnosis; treatment; disposition and follow-up; practice guidelines; special populations; special considerations; references; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information concerning allergic conjunctivitis; allergic rhinitis; anaphylaxis; food allergy; hymenoptera sting allergy; penicillin allergy; and sulfa allergy.

(by K. Frank Austen – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to allergies, anaphylaxis, and systemic mastocytosis; specific anaphylaxis section; urticaria and angioedema; pathophysiology and manifestations; diagnosis; systemic mastocytosis; allergic rhinitis; further readings; a “See Also” section; and lecture notes.

(by J. Stephen Huff – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to altered mental status and coma; delirium; dementia; coma; references; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes the definition of anemia; classification of anemia; related laboratory indices; clinical presentation; microcytic anemia; normocytic anemia; macrocytic anemia; other causes for severe anemia in children; red cell abnormalities on peripheral smear; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references.

(by Robin R. Hemphill – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to anemia; pathophysiology; clinical features; diagnosis; treatment; disposition and follow-up; acknowledgement; references; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes primary psychiatric conditions associated with anxiety; medical diagnoses that may be associated with anxiety; medications and toxins; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries on generalized anxiety disorder; social anxiety disorder; specific phobia; school refusal; depression – differential diagnosis; and mania – differential diagnosis.

(by Martha C. Ward, MD & Steven Garlow, MD, PhD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes key clinical questions concerning mood and anxiety disorders; depression; bipolar disorder; anxiety disorders; suggested readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information concerning asthma in children; asthma and in adults and adolescents; medications for asthma; additional asthma topics; along with related summaries on asthma exacerbation in children; asthma in children; asthma exacerbation in adults and adolescents; and asthma in adults and adolescents.

(by Peter J. Barnes – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to asthma; prevalence; etiology; pathogenesis; asthma triggers; pathophysiology; clinical features and diagnosis; acute severe asthma; refractory asthma; special considerations; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on acute low back pain and chronic low back pain.

(National Heart, Lung, and Blood Insitute information retrieval system) Abstract: Arrhythmias can be hard to diagnose, especially the types that only cause symptoms every once in a while. Doctors diagnose arrhythmias based on medical and family histories, a physical exam, and the results from tests and procedures.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about cellulitis; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning erysipelas; periorbital cellulitis; orbital cellulitis; skin abscess; fasciitis; and Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infection.

(AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes brief information on key features of cellulitis and erysipelas; clinical findings; diagnosis; treatment; and outcome.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of chest pain; differential diagnosis; identifying ischemic heart disease; evaluation of nonischemic chest pain; management; prognosis of nonischemic chest pain; pediatric chest pain; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning coronary artery disease (list of topics); cardiac troponin testing; management of angina; acute coronary syndrome; physician quality reporting system quality measures; and Medicare hospital outpatient department quality measures.

(National Cancer Institute at the National Institutes of Health) This source includes a list of common cancer types that includes cancers that are diagnosed with the greatest frequency in the United States, excluding nonmelanoma skin cancers.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes a heart failure (list of topics) section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about constipation in adults; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with a related summary on constipation in children.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about constipation in children; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries on constipation in adults and Fecal incontinence in children (encopresis).

(AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes brief information on constipation key features; clinical findings; diagnosis; treatment; and outcome.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about COPD; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute exacerbation of chronic bronchitis; bronchodilators for COPD; inhaled corticosteroids for COPD; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(by Gerald W. Staton, MD & Lewis Satterwhite, MD – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes key clinical questions on chronic obstructive pulmonary disease; an introduction; epidemiology; COPD exacerbation: differential and evaluation; diagnostic; triage: determining severity, indications for admission, and level of care; management of an acute exacerbation of COPD; outpatient therapeutics and regimen augmentation; COPD complicating admissions for other diagnoses; prognosis and end of life care; discharge planning; quality improvement; suggested readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of chronic cough in adults; general information; differential diagnosis; history and physical; diagnostic testing; management; prognosis; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning chronic cough in children; pertussis; allergic rhinitis; gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD); and asthma (list of topics).

(AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes brief information on cough key features; clinical findings; diagnosis; treatment; and outcome.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes a dementia evaluation overview; definitions; incidence and prevalence; differential diagnosis; history and physical; diagnostic testing; cognitive and functional assessment; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning mild cognitive impairment; Alzheimer’s disease; vascular dementia; frontotemporal dementia; and normal-pressure hydrocephalus (NPH).

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about depression; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning antidepressant efficacy in depression; dysthymia for “chronic depression;” seasonal affective disorder; postpartum depression; antidepressant medication overview; psychotherapy for depression; depression alternative treatments; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(Clinical Key, Elsevier information retrieval system) This source includes key points concerning depression in adults; background; screening; primary prevention; diagnosis; treatment; follow-up; patient education; resources; and contributors.

(AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes key features of depression; clinical findings; diagnosis; treatment; and outcome.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on types of diabetes; diabetes prevention and screening; treatment targets in patients with diabetes; nonpharmacologic management of diabetes; medications for diabetes; and complications of diabetes.

(by Alvin C. Powers – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to diabetes mellitus; classification; epidemiology; diagnosis; insulin biosynthesis, secretion, and action; pathogenesis; genetically defined, monogenic forms of diabetes mellitus (DM); acute complications of DM; chronic complications of DM; long-term treatment; complications of therapy for diabetes mellitus; ongoing aspects of comprehensive diabetes care; special considerations in diabetes mellitus; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(Clinical Key, Elsevier information retrieval system) This source includes key points concerning acute diarrhea in adults; background; screening; primary prevention; diagnosis; treatment; follow-up; patient education; resources; and contributors.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on acute diarrhea in children and chronic diarrhea.

(by Danielle B. Scheurer, MD, MSc, FHM – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes key clinical questions concerning diarrhea; an introduction; infectious diarrhea; noninfectious diarrhea; history; physical exam; diagnostics; approach to diagnostic testing; treatment; the hospital of the future; conclusion; suggested readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information about deep vein thrombosis (DVT); causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning venous thromboembolism (list of topics); pulmonary empbolism (PE); venous thromboembolism – testing upon diagnosis; anticoagulation (list of topics); deep vein thrombosis (DVT) prophylaxis for surgical patients; deep vein thrombosis (DVT) prophylaxis for medical patients; upper extremity deep vein thrombosis (DVT); and Medicare/Joint Commission national hospital inpatient quality measures.

(PubMed Health, A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia. Lipid disorders; Hyperlipoproteinemia; Hyperlipidemia; Dyslipidemia; Hypercholesterolemia) This source includes causes, incidence, and risk factors; signs and tests; treatment; expectations (prognosis); and references.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of dyspnea; general information; differential diagnosis; history and physical; recognition of unstable patients; management of dyspnea; prognosis in acute dyspnea; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references.

(American Academy of Family Physicians, Judy D. Bremnor, MD, and Richard Sadovsky, MD, State University of New York Health Science Center at Brooklyn College of Medicine, Brooklyn, New York: Am Fam Physician. 2002 Apr 15; 65(8): 1589-1597.) "Dysuria, defined as pain, burning, or discomfort on urination, is more common in women than in men. Although urinary tract infection is the most frequent cause of dysuria, empiric treatment with antibiotics is not always appropriate. Dysuria occurs more often in younger women, probably because of their greater frequency of sexual activity. Older men are more likely to have dysuria because of an increased incidence of prostatic hyperplasia with accompanying inflammation and infection. A comprehensive history and physical examination can often reveal the cause of dysuria. Urinalysis may not be needed in healthier patients who have uncomplicated medical histories and symptoms."

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on fever without apparent source in critically ill adults; fever without apparent source in long-term care residents; upper respiratory infection; fever without apparent source in infants less than 3 months old; fever without apparent source in children aged 3-36 months; and fever of unknown origin.

(by James E. Morris, MD, MPH – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes diagnosis of fluid-electrolyte disorders; management of specific disorders; acid-base disorders; appendix; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes differential diagnosis of acute GI bleeding; differentiating upper and lower GI bleeding; guidelines and resources; patient information; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute lower gastrointestinal bleeding and acute upper gastrointestinal bleeding.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on headache; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning migraine (list of topics); migraine in adults; migraine in children and adolescents; migraine – treatment of acute attack; and tension headache.

(By Patricia Kritek and Christopher Fanta, AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill Company information retrieval system) This source includes a seciton on cough; hemoptysis; further readings; and a "See Also" section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on HIV infection; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 Codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning HIV infection (list of topics); primary HIV infection; antiretroviral therapy for HIV infection; opportunistic infections – prophylaxis in HIV infection; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on hypertension; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 Codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning hypertensive emergency; blood pressure measurement and monitoring; high blood pressure - differential diagnosis; first-line therapy for hypertension - hypertension treatment in elderly patients, hypertension treatment considerations for race and ethnicity, hypertension treatment in patients with diabetes, hypertension treatment in patients with chronic kidney disease; antihypertensive medications overview; DASH diet; hypertension alternative treatments; cardiovascular disease and obstructive sleep apnea; hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; and hypertension in children and adolescents.

(by Marc Ghany and Jay H. Hoofnagle – AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to the approach to the patient with liver disease; liver diseases; liver biopsy; nonspecific issues in management of patients with liver disease; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on ST-elevation myocardial infarction (STEMI); acute coronary syndrome; and coronary artery disease for old myocardial infarction.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on nausea and vomiting in adults; differential diagnosis; history and physical; diagnostic testing; management; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning nausea and vomiting in infants and children; nausea and vomiting in pregnancy; gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD); and gastroparesis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of nausea and vomiting in infants and children; general information; differential diagnosis; history and physical; diagnostic testing; management; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning nausea and vomiting in adults; rotavirus gastroenteritis; gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD) in infants; nausea and vomiting in pregnancy; and dehydration and hypovolemia.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on nausea and vomiting in pregnancy; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with a related section concerning treatments of discomforts during pregnancy.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on MRSA; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning treatment of MRSA skin and soft tissue infections; infective endocarditis; osteomyelitis; pneumonia (list of topics); septic arthritis; sepsis (list of topics); and bacterial meningitis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on nosocomial penumonia; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning pneumonia (list of topics); pneumonia in adults or pneumonia in children for community-acquired pneumonia; nursing home-acquired pneumonia; aspiration pneumonia; pneumonia severity assessment; and Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infection.

(By Ezekiel J. Emanuel - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes epidemiology; hospice and palliative care framework; interventions; managing the last steps; palliative care services: how and where; further directions; and further readings.

(Norton J. Greenberger; Darwin L. Conwell; Bechien U. Wu; Peter A. Banks - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) Biochemistry and Physiology of Pancreatic Exocrine Secretion; Acute Pancreatitis; Chronic Pancreatitis and Pancreatic Exocrine Insufficiency; Other Conditions; Acknowledgments; and Further Readings.

(Norton J. Greenberger; Darwin L. Conwell; Peter A. Banks - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an approach to the patient with pancreatic disease: introduction.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on acute pancreatitis and chronic pancreatitis.

(Lionel A. Mandell; Richard Wunderink - AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) Definition; Pathophysiology; Pathology; Community-Acquired Pneumonia; Health Care–Associated Pneumonia; and Further Readings.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes a list of topics including pneumonia in adults; pneumonia in children; aspiration pneumonia; nursing home-acquired pneumonia; nosocomial pneumonia; selected specific causes of pneumonia – Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infection, pneumocystis pneumonia (PCP), severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), and acute eosinophilic pneumonia; assessment – clinical prediction of pneumonia and pneumonia severity assessment; antibiotic treatment - antibiotics for pediatric outpatients with community-acquired pneumonia, antibiotics for adult outpatients with community-acquired pneumonia, antibiotics for pediatric inpatients with community-acquired pneumonia, and antibiotics for adult inpatients with community-acquired pneumonia; complications – acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), parapneumonic effusion and empyema in adults, severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), and more.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes information on prevalence and incidence of sexually transmitted diseases; treatment; prevention; screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; and references; along with many related summaries on specific STDs including: chlamydia genital infection; gonococcal cervicitis; gonococcal urethritis; gonococcal proctitis; disseminated gonococcal infection; pelvic inflammatory disease (PID); herpes genitalis; condyloma acuminatum (venereal warts); primary syphilis; secondary syphilis; latent syphilis; syphilis (tertiary phase); HIV infection; hepatitis B; epididymitis; chancroid; granuloma inguinale; lymphogranuloma venereum (LGV); pediculosis pubis (crab lice); scabies; non-gonococcal urethritis (NGU); trichomoniasis; bacterial vaginosis; and candida vulvovaginitis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system)
This source includes general information on sickle cell disease; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning management and complications of sickle cell disease; beta-thalassemia; beta-thalassemia minor; and alpha-thalassemia.

(by Martin C. Mahoney, MD, PhD, FAAFP and K. Michael Cummings, PhD, MPH – Access Medicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction and summary on tobacco cessation along with a “See Also” section.

DynaMed, EbscoHost information retrieval system) This source includes Tobacco use disorder; Bupropion for smoking cessation; Counseling for tobacco cessation; Nicotine replacement therapy for smoking cessation; Varenicline; and Smoking cessation strategies for hospitalized patients.

(Access Medicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to stroke; approach to diagnosis; focal cerebral ischemia; intracerebral hemorrhage; global cerebral ischemia; references; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes a list of topics concerning stroke: transient ischemic attack (TIA); stroke (acute management); long-term management of stroke; and risk factors for stroke or transient ischemic attack. Under the section titled acute stroke – acute stroke management: stroke (acute management); blood pressure management in acute ischemic stroke; neuroimaging for acute stroke; anticoagulation therapy for acute stroke; antiplatelet therapy for acute stroke; thrombolytics for acute stroke; deep vein thrombosis (DVT) prophylaxis for medical patients; swallowing dysfunction after stroke; alternative and experimental therapies for acute stroke; ischemic stroke: lacunar stroke; moyamoya; posterior cerebral artery stroke; cerebral venous thrombosis (CVT); hemorrhagic stroke: intracerebral hemorrhage; subarachnoid hemorrhage; central nervous system vascular malformations.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes types of substance use disorders: alcohol intoxication; alcohol use disorder; amphetamine abuse; cocaine abuse; inhalant abuse; opioid abuse or dependence; opioid overdose; sedative-hypnotic overdose; tobacco use disorder. Under the section titled withdrawal - alcohol withdrawal; opioid withdrawal; and neonatal opiate withdrawal. Also included is additional information; quality improvement; and references including reviews and guidelines.

(by Roy Freeman – Access Medicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes an introduction to syncope; epidemiology and natural history; pathophysiology; classification; further readings; and a “See Also” section.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes an overview of syncope evaluation; general information; causes of syncope; diagnostic approach; diagnosis of cardiac syncope; diagnosis of neurally mediated syncope; diagnosis of orthostatic hypotension; diagnosis of cerebrovascular causes of syncope; diagnosis of nonsyncopal events; prognosis and complications; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning carotid sinus syncope; orthostatic syncope; vasovagal syncope; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on sepsis in adults; causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning sepsis treatment in adults; sepsis in children; sepsis treatment in children; neonatal sepsis; and intensive glucose control in critical care.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes sections on active tuberculosis; latent tuberculosis; tuberculosis in HIV-infected persons; and neurotuberculosis.

(DynaMed, EBSCOhost information retrieval system) This source includes general information on upper respiratory infection (URI); causes and risk factors; complications and associated conditions; history and physical; diagnosis; treatment; prognosis; prevention and screening; quality improvement; guidelines and resources; patient information; ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; and references; along with related summaries concerning acute bronchitis; streptococcal pharyngitis; acute sinusitis; acute otitis media; allergic rhinitis; corticosteroids for wheezing in children; and physician quality reporting system quality measures.

(AccessMedicine, McGraw-Hill information retrieval system) This source includes brief information concerning involuntary weight loss: key features; clinical findings; diagnosis; treatment; outcome; and references.